Uterus-Free At Last (Hopefully!)

Since I was 13 I knew I wanted to be child-free life-long. I will soon be 25 and that statement is still very much true. Honestly, more-so in the wake of recent political events.

I have multiple debilitating mental and physical illnesses that are manageable per say but not necessarily curable or directly treatable. These prevent me from holding a normal 9-5 job, much less raise a child (that for multiple other reasons I do not want).

 

For 10 years I have advocated for sterilization and for 10 years I have been given excuses why I need to wait or have a child before making that decision.

For 10 years I have been told I am not mature enough to make a life-long decision about my own body. Yet, I am mature enough to choose to get pregnant without any questions asked about my maturity to be a mother or have an abortion. Yet, I have tattoos- a permanent part of my skin.

For 10 years I have been told to “just deal with..” pain and missed important life events due to my menstrual cycle. I have been told “the pain isn’t THAT bad and to quit overreacting..” multiple times when lurched over hurling for days ending in an ER visit for IV fluids and sometimes an iron transfusion.

THIS year, I will not be told “no”. I will NOT let anything, including financials stand in my way. I WILL be uterus free by 2023.

This is the 1st of many entries publically documenting my journey.

 

As of today, my sterlization binder is complete, I’m looking into various insurance companies that may cover the surgeries at 100%, and I am making a list of doctors to contact for consultations.

Wish me luck!

 

Log in to write a note
June 29, 2022

Good luck and good for you. Like tattoos (I have several myself) you live with the choices you make but by no mean do those choices have to follow any form of tradition or societal expectations. If you change your mind you adopt, if you don’t you don’t. Your life, your body, and while it’s still bloody allowed you do whatever you want with it.

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You. ― Dr. Seuss. 

-RT

June 29, 2022

Wishing you all the best!

August 25, 2022

I’m in the same boat as you! I don’t have the money (or the insurance) to be able to do so- god luck! and I hope you get what you want!

August 25, 2022

*Good Luck (pardon my English- not my first language)

February 8, 2023

I’m glad I saw this because this topic is extremely controversial with many even though it should never even be an afterthought to anybody besides you and whoever you choose to share it with! Its a topic I saw my sister go through a few years back and it really opened my eyes. She had a terrible experience at 15 with terminating a pregnancy….she didn’t want to terminate, family pushed it very heavily but then she got deathly sick and it became almost a choice of living or both she and the baby dying. She was never able to get pregnant after that. Then in her 30’s she conceived 2 times and miscarried both. She was suffering so much knowing she would never successfully carry a child and still the doctors always gave her “hope”. There was always something else she could try….but she couldn’t do it anymore! Every month brought a glimmer of “what if…” and it never happened and she decided she couldn’t live the rest of her life being heartbroken over and over. She was ready to “get rid of my uterus because it is useless to me!” Doctors did everything they could to sway her from that….I think the only reason he finally relented was her age. She is now 2 years out and it was the best thing she could have done.

I wish you all the best on your journey and thank you for sharing!