Ale vs Lager vs Stout

I was recently telling someone that I like ale beer but not lager beer…until I realized that it was stout that I didn’t like, and I DO like ales and lagers.

That left me trying to remember what the different was between ales and lagers. TO THE THE GOOGLES! I found this site that said in its first sentence, “For the average beer drinker, the difference between an ale and a lager comes down to how the beer looks, smells, and tastes.“… Um, what? That’s literally everything. They could’ve just said, “For the average beer drinker, the difference between an ale and a lager comes down to…everything.” and it would’ve meant the same thing.

The rest of the article was interesting, such as brewing temperature: ales ferment under warm conditions; lagers cold. But, that first sentence has to go.

Log in to write a note
October 18, 2018

I love craft (and craft style) lager

October 18, 2018

How I’ve to see those initials back here.

thanks for helping to fill the gap in the middle, however inactive I was.

 

lager. All the way