Site Performance Update

OD site performance seems to be much better now. The DM was working on it over the weekend. As it turns out, he was out of the country on business, so he didn’t get my texts from the past week. He texted me Friday night saying that he just got all my texts and would work on OD site performance. If you’re still getting timeouts, please leave me a note specifying what you were doing (clicking on, etc.), and I’ll let the DM know.

http://ewsentinel.com
http://easydiary.ewsentinel.com
http://twitter.com/Ewsentinel
http://youtube.com/EWSentinel
http://youtube.com/EWSentinelGames

Log in to write a note
September 30, 2013

Site Note: ThomaS, trying to leave a note. We also get time outs trying to get in to his page but not all the time. Thanks for this.

September 30, 2013

I’d believe you, except that I still cannot access diarist A943445 (WhoWhatWhere), and C100228 (‘Rella). Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server error ‘80040e31’Timeout expired/entryview.asp, line 306 ‘Rella posted at ProseBox for lack of being able to post here (they both have complained that they cannot even get INTO their own accounts most of the time to even post), and someone left a note with the excellent theory that the issues with OD (at least in her case) may be tied to the SIZE of her diary in the database. Both women used to post daily, and have been here for 10 years or so. Their journals are considerably large. Which I admit, leaves me to wonder why I’ve never seen issues with A434612 (NotKieran), but I think the difference is that he has very small entries (presumably easy to dredge up in the database), and both ‘Rella and WhoWhatWhere post long entries, when they do write.

September 30, 2013

I should add, I am skeptical of how much work he accomplished, not what you’re telling us. I DO appreciate the update.

September 30, 2013

That’s a good theory as my diary would be one of the larger ones …. It feels so good to be running better. Thanks..

EWS
September 30, 2013

RYN [Georgette]: I texted him now about [ThomaS]’s diary. I viewed it myself and saw the error for his entry listing. Thanks! Eric

EWS
September 30, 2013

RYN [Zenith]: I understand what you’re saying. No worries. 🙂 Eric

EWS
September 30, 2013

RYN [elven.assassin]: I confirmed that [WhoWhatWhere]’s entry list times out. (and I texted the DM about it) But [‘Rella]’s entry list show fine today. Eric

thank you so much for just being here.

We are grateful that you update us. I am not ready to desert ship yet. This is home.

September 30, 2013

Thanks, EWS, for all you do! Looking forward to your new site too…. PB just doesn’t do it for me!

http://EasyDiary.Ewsentinel.com OMG i am so excited! i rushed over there and realized..ooops.. coming soon. heh. well count me in dear coming soon. as soon as you arrive.

i so hope we can import our photos too.

September 30, 2013

I have been trying for weeks to get into my diary to post, edit or even view my own entries. I can no longer do so unless I go in through the mobile site. I can’t even load the table of contents on my main page any more – the box just has an error message. I don’t have a problem logging in, checking my bookmarks or loading my notes. That said, I’ve had at least 6 diarists tell me they haven’t beenable to read my entries for months, which is why I barely get any notes anymore (except in spurts when somebody is lucky enough to get in). I also have a large diary (I’ve been here about 14 years) and tend to write long entries. But even this weekend, I had to work for hours just to get into a VERY short stub of a private entry I had saved for later work so it’s not just the entry length. Also, it took me about a half hour last night to download a handful of entries (it was less than 30). I got multiple time out errors.

September 30, 2013

I really do appreciate the work you do though, thanks for keeping us updated! I will say that today does seem a little better, but I am still seeing intermittent erros when trying to make edits. It was okay early this morning, but now I’m having the same problems. I can’t even load my entries. When I do load them and try to edit, it times out while saving (although the saves DO take effect once I am able to view the entry to confirm – but that can take me 20-30 minutes of trying).

Thanks. Subscription Receipt for Open Diary Subscription Renewal Hello Stephanie K , You have successfully signed up for a subscription to Open Diary Subscription Renewal using PayPal. Your first subscription payment, for $30.00 USD, has already been sent to AbleSites, Inc.. Subscription Details Date of sign up: Sep 27, 2013 Subscription Name: Open Diary Subscription Renewal Subscription Number: S-6LJ11125TE6265010 Item Number: ODP12 Subscription Terms: $30.00 USD for 12 months If you have any questions or concerns about this subscription, please contact AbleSites, Inc..

September 30, 2013

Here’s the transaction ID for the first payment: Subscription#S-4MJ64237HF395723W. That’s probably the one you actually need!

September 30, 2013

i was not online at all over the weekend so i had no idea. i’m glad things are working better. it was getting frustrating. thank you for keeping up with the problems we’ve been having. so far, this morning i haven’t had any problems at all. take care,

September 30, 2013

People are telling me that in trying to note me they get a time out. Any idea why ?

September 30, 2013

I appreciate all the work you do with this site!!!

Working just fine at 9:40 a.m. Pacific time on Monday, Sept 30th.

September 30, 2013

Hugs.

My only issue is signing into OD. It just sits there & I wait & wait. I usually give up & walk away because don’t have the patience. Once I manage to sign in things are ok.

September 30, 2013

Received test note

September 30, 2013

Oh, yes! The large diary problem is one I’ve actually noticed for a while, now! Bear with me on this, it’s only my own crackpot theory, but for quite a long while, now, I’ve noticed that diaries with LOTS of notes, I just can’t access their notes unless I try for literally dozens of times to refresh. Even then, sometimes it’s simply non-functioning. But NOW, possibly since my own diary surpassed the 25,000 note mark, it’s happening even to my own notes! But I’d venture to say that the more notes there are, the more difficult it is to access notes. Bookmarks have also been difficult to access. Once the list comes up, reading entries hasn’t been *quite* as troublesome, but it’s not absolutely problem-free. Hope this info is actually helpful to you?

September 30, 2013

Thanks so much!

EWS
September 30, 2013

RYN [April Fool]: What I’ve suspected for a long time, and have been telling the DM, is that it’s database related. The more notes, entries, etc. that it’s trying to pull down (query) at once, the longer it takes for the page to render. There are two time-ceilings in a web request, IIS (web server rendering) and database (how long it takes to receive data from the database). I suspect that one, orboth, timeout when the database query takes too long with the larger data requests. #longassnotereply #youarewelcome Eric

September 30, 2013

I agree with the large number of notes, etc. I’ve had lots of problems with keeping a truly stupid number of bookmarks. I went and cleaned house and it did improve. Last couple of days have been remarkably better though.

September 30, 2013

Thanks a lot EWS 🙂 Ps : i agree with the notes theory. I have close to 13,000 notes since starting this diary in Dec 2011 (after closing the old diaries and not transferring anything from there into here). Whereas I don’t have problems accessing my OD, I only have problem accessing notes page. But after refreshing a few times, they come out alright. Plus whenever I can’t accessnotes page, I just click on my latest entry to see if there are new notes. No complaints from here, 🙂

September 30, 2013

Aha! Volumes of notes would make more sense (coupled with entries) as ‘Rella and WhoWhatWhere always had a ton of notes per entry before all these shenanigans started happening. (Whereas NotKieran does not have nearly the same volume per entry. 2-3 vs 20 on average?) Weird that in the 20 minutes between my note and your follow up, ‘Rella’s OD started working for you. It’s almost 2am whereI am, and I came back to see what follow ups you had to say and ‘Rella is timing out for me again. (I don’t know in between as I had a busy day and forgot about all this; I hadn’t checked again until now.) I did notice WhoWhatWhere was able to post a few hours ago. Another thing too, I’ve noticed, the mobile version runs better than the main site. In fact… Yup, can’t access ‘Rella via the desktop, but I can access her via the mobile site just fine. By chance, were you checking with your phone?

September 30, 2013

…and after I think I’m done here, WhoWhatWhere’s diary is timing out, again. :/ (but like ‘Rella’s, I can at least read her via m.opendiary.com for the moment.)

October 1, 2013

appreciate the update.

Mns
October 1, 2013

thank you~

I can’t remember if you said you can’t add new circles or not so I thought I’d ask; is it possible to add an OctoPhoMo circle so that the participants have an easy place to access all the entries for this month? If you can’t, no worries, figured it couldn’t hurt to ask! 🙂

RYN: That’s what I thought. I promise next year I’ll remember that and not ask you again! lol

October 2, 2013

Thank you for your hard work!

October 2, 2013

Ah, thanks for the info! I was reminded of OD when listening to the story about the ACA’s website basically crashing the first day it “opened” when over a million people tried to access it yesterday!

Hi there, I have paid for an OD+ subscription, it’s been 24 hours since I paid for it, but I’m still on basic account, is there anyway to update my diary? Kind regards, Crystal Apple

RYN: Thanks for your help, I really appreciate it. I think this is what you need, but let me know if not. Subscription Details Date of sign up: 25-Sep-2013 Subscription Name: Open Diary Subscription Renewal Subscription Number: S-4TB43696UN7634346 Item Number: ODP12 Exchange rate: The exchange rate for this purchase is 1 EUR = 1.30718USD Subscription

RYN: Thanks for your help, I really appreciate it 🙂

RYN Dear Nafeesa Zia, You have successfully signed up for a subscription to Open Diary Subscription Renewal using PayPal. Your first subscription payment, for $16.50 USD, has already been sent to AbleSites, Inc.. Subscription Details Date of Sign Up: 3 Oct 2013 Subscription Name: Open Diary Subscription Renewal Subscription Number: S-71173588N69151711 Item Number: ODP6

Exchange rate: The exchange rate for this purchase is 1 GBP = 1.57263USD Subscription Terms: $16.50 USD for 6 months If you have any questions or concerns about this subscription, please contact AbleSites, Inc.. Contact Information Business Name: AbleSites, Inc. Contact Email: information@opendiary.com Contact Phone:

^^^ thats the copy/paste from the email receipt from Paypal. Thank you!

October 4, 2013

Crome has just updated and is now having the same compatibility issue IE has with the site. Only I don’t know how to get round it on crome so am forced to write my entries on IE when I don’t use IE. Any idea on how to do the same on crome now? Thanks for your help.

I’m having problems as I’m unable to write a new entry at all. Nothing shows up cept the white box where you should be able to type with various font changes, size, etc above it. Would like to make an update at some point if at all possible. Thank you

October 4, 2013

I need some help please. I have been unable to write a entry. I can write a title and adjust date but when it comes to even starting a entry the writing area given doesn’t seem even allow me to type. Please help!

October 4, 2013

Yes we can leave notes most comfortably on most pages. ThomaS causes us both problems. We time out.

October 4, 2013

in paypal, it almost looks like I did it more than once, maybe? I dont usually look at my paypal records Sep 18, 2013 Payment To AbleSites, Inc. Completed Details Payment To AbleSites, Inc. 43C10804MU3865731 -$16.50 USD Sep 18, 2013 Transfer From Bank Account CompletedYour transfer from your bank account to your PayPal account is complete.Your transfer from your bank account to you

October 5, 2013

It is so refreshing to see that someone cares about how Open Diary is doing. Thank you EWS for all that you do and for responding to the concerns of diarists. So far so good for me. No problems here. Just wanted to leave a note of thanks.

I’ve only got the yahoo toolbar, it doesn’t show a torn piece of paper in it :/

Hello, Beth Foster from facebook comment post: I am noodlebugs and need my p/w. thanks so much!

October 8, 2013

i bought an OD plus subscription two weeks ago and i still haven’t been upgraded!

Just wondering . . . now that the OD Facebook page is gone, where can we look for any updates during an outage?

October 8, 2013

are we going to get a refund to our account for the time the site was down, not to mention the times when it’s been running slow?

October 10, 2013

Hi Ews I am trying to import my diary away from my diary so it will load easier and the import will not work.

October 10, 2013

it gives the timeout error

October 10, 2013

Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server error ‘80040e31’ Timeout expired /importentries.asp, line 152

Beg pardon sir, I couldn’t fix IE to play nice and allow me to update… So I installed the Chrome and that isn’t working either…. SO…. idk… I think my only option is to say aduie to OD… Been many years but… if it isn’t going to work then, it just isn’t working out

October 11, 2013

Hi Ews- I wasn’t trying to download a diary I was trying to upload my diary to another diary so it did not take so long to load for other people. You know how it asks you where you want to upload your diary from. I am going to store it on another diary because most of my entries are private now.

Do you have help running this site, or are you doing it all yourself? Man, I hope you have help. If not, you should get some. :-p So here’s my question: If another diarist leaves rude notes, can I block him? I don’t have an OD+, and I have readers who aren’t on my friend’s list. Thanks 🙂

It’s some name calling, some crazy accusations toward me (which aren’t related specifically to OD or anything), stuff like that. It’s my ex, so we have a history of not getting along when he’s pissed at me. lol

I don’t want him to lose his OD or anything like that, and he’s gone friends only, I’ve noticed, so maybe he’s ready to back off :-p

October 11, 2013

Hi there, every time I try and write an entry, it won’t let me type in the message body. It won’t let me expand the toolbar either, help please!! I haven’t written in about 2 weeks and I have all kinds of stuff to talk about LOL thank you!!

if you can,if at all possible, please put easydiary up soon. OD is losing out more ways than one.

Hi again. Here’s my receipt for another month. I should probably start doing 6 months at a time so I don’t have to bug you. 🙂 Subscription Payment Sent (Unique Transaction ID # 39Y076813U820661J) See related S-9T6785815L906634K You can see all of your recurring payments on the My preapproved payments. Business Name: AbleSites, Inc. (The recipient of this payment isVerified) Email: subscriptions@opendiaryplus.com Business Contact Information Customer Service URL: http://www.opendiary.com Customer Service Email: information@opendiary.com Total amount: -$3.00 USD Fee amount: $0.00 USD Net amount: -$3.00 USD Date: Oct 12, 2013 Time: 09:05:14 PDT Status: Completed Subject: AbleSites, Inc. Funding Type: PayPal Balance Funding Source: $3.00 USD – PayPal Account

October 12, 2013

I hate to keep bothering you.. But it is all anyone can do… Is there any end in sight to these Timeouts? I have to make several attempts to even get into my own diary.. Yet there are windows when all runs great… But they don’t last long… Very frustrating.

October 12, 2013

I can’t write an entry at all…the white box appears but am unable to paste or type in it. This occurs in both IE and Chrome. =[

I seen alot of people writing about the site slowing down and it was running fine for me but since yesterday the site is running super slow!! It’s taking at least a min or two for it to flip to another page or upload a note I like to leave…I think we need another Site Performance Update ASAP…. I hate seeing people jumping to ProseBox b/c of OD running to slow….

October 13, 2013

🙁 I can’t write anything, when the “write an entry” page comes up no curser appears in the text box. I can only write a title. sad panda. thanks for any help. dynne

thank you!!!

October 14, 2013

Today I am just having trouble with ThomaS. Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server error ‘80040e31’ Timeout expired /entryview.asp, line 306

October 14, 2013

Thank you! I should have known it was Chrome, it always seems to be anyway. Thank you again for your help. dynne

October 14, 2013

for months now..when i try to access bookmarks..i get the “Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server error ‘80040e31’ Timeout expired /bookmarks.asp, line 137 ” error. sometimes i can try 10x in a row and eventually it COULD pop up but then it will happen when i try to read the diaries half the time. its every day..every time i use OD..for months. Ideas? (thank you)

October 14, 2013

(sorry should specify that when I ‘try 10x and it will sometimes pop up’…i mean the bookmarks page will sometimes pop up if i try 10x. sorry i phrased that poorly. Usually I will try to access bookmarks for about 20 min then give up. Sometimes I can get to bookmarks after a while but it will error out while i try to read diaries until I give up. thanks!)

I have been trying to go to Penny_Dreadful’s diary all day long, and it times out every time: Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server error ‘80040e31’ Timeout expired /entrylist.asp, line 518 Usually, if I try long enough, the page will eventually open. But that hasn’t worked today.

October 14, 2013

Trying to click Random from any page gives me this error… Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server error ‘80040e31’ Timeout expired /random.asp, line 36 Soooo yeah…good stuff…. ~♥~

October 15, 2013

Thanks for the note and the help – I appreciate it 🙂 Things seem to be working normally for me at this time! Yay 🙂 xx

October 15, 2013

I can’t write anything 🙁

October 15, 2013

Same problem as noter above- I am unable to write new entries in my diary. The text box is unresponsive to right/left clicks and typing. Help, please?

October 18, 2013

My diary is dying too. 🙁 People are having trouble trying to leave notes, and I’m getting timeout errors trying to read my notelist page. Plus OD loads very slowly again. I don’t have my old diary imported, so my journal is very small… obviously no clue why the software is choking on it, but it is. Just a head’s up, I guess…

Pages won’t load

October 25, 2013

OD performance improved for a day or two after DM restored our access when it was completely down for a day, but it has slowed to a crawl again. Waiting and waiting to simply open a new diary entry is really draining. I didn’t want to believe it or give up hope, but I’m beginning to think that OD and us writers is like a relationship that has fizzled out and the uninterested one stops callingthe other until they just “figure it out”.

October 25, 2013

Hi! So I was able to get my notes to work. But favorites still isn’t working. Help? Thanks.

With all these complaints, it’s evident that there is a much larger problem with the entire website. Will the problem be addressed or will the situation just continue to deteriorate until there’s no there there? You do a good job of PR for the website, but until it’s properly addressed, your coverups will not suffice. The fact is: the site is running poorly in general and needs a major fix. Will it ever happen?

December 30, 2013

hi my name is prissy2228 and I have been having a problem with my diary I haven’t been able to write any text in months can log on to my page but that’s it. I have tried with many different computers and its the same thing. don’t know what to do please help. I love writing in my diary.