Some ED and OD Follow Up Info

I wanted to share some additional information, as I’ve gotten various feedback from people on OD and PB. Lets breakout some killer bullet points!…

  • My future diary site EWSentinel’s Easy Diary will not compete with OpenDiary or Prosebox. OD and PB are both good sites for different reasons. My hope is that ED will be an even more different reason, and not a competitor. Even if I’m the only person who uses it, I’ll still be happy.
  • "EWS, why are you doing this? Trying to split the community further is kind of a dick move." I’m doing this because I want my own site, my own baby, where I have complete control, where I can do the development and flex my creative muscle. I’ve been wanting to do this for many, many years, even since I first found OD in 1999. I’m now at a job that gives me a lot of flexibility, and I felt that this was a good time for me to do it. I’m sorry if it ends up fracturing the community. That’s not my wish.
  • Easy Diary is in the beginning stages of development, so I ask for patience. I have a job and career, which in reference to ED, is a good thing and a less-than-good thing.
    • The Good: I won’t be relying on ED for revenue. As long as it pays for the hosting fees, I’ll be happy. (click those ads lol)
    • The Less-than-good: Because ED is not my primary job, it means that the initial development process will be a bit slower than other sites, whom development for them is their main means of revenue, and thus they have more time to devote.
  • OD is not dying. The DM has been actively trying to resolve the slowness/timeout errors and is doing heavy testing. (the site seems to be ‘fairly well’ for me today, except for note history)
  • I will continue to be here at OD. I love OD and won’t leave. I’ll continue to perform my OD admin role here for as long as the DM lets me.
  • I’ll be making OD and ED tutorial videos, and post them on their respective sites (post development for ED) to help noobies and vetrans alike to be able to use the sites to their fullest. Be on the look out for those.
    • I’ll post OD’s tutorial videos in my diary and on the online help page.

I hope that some of this was helpful. If you have any other questions or concerns feel free to leave me a note. 🙂

http://twitter.com/Ewsentinel
http://youtube.com/EWSentinel
http://youtube.com/EWSentinelGames

Log in to write a note

Thanks for the update. Your attitude is admirable. Much appreciated.

I will stay with OD until it is no longer, but I will use your site once it’s up and running, too! I know how it feels to want to do things and have complete freedom and control. You’ve got my support!

September 19, 2013

good for you 🙂

Mns
September 19, 2013

very good. appreciate this update~

September 19, 2013

Facebook? 🙂

September 19, 2013

I can’t wait. 🙂 ps: Say hi to the DM for me. And please extend my gratitude to him [and to you too] for taking care of this place. 🙂

It is good to know that the DM is working on his site. I think most of the frustration for many is thinking that he isn’t doing anything. I look forward to seeing your new site.

I am getting pretty excited about your site!

September 19, 2013

You totally rock! And I knew you wouldn’t do anything to undermine OD. I have what may seem an unanswerable question, but here goes… Early last week I heard a story on a public radio station about another country hacking into multiple financial and other important websites. It seems they didn’t damage anything, but may have been searching for information. I hadn’t heard the beginning of the story, and haven’t been able to find it again, online. The reason I bring this up is because it just somehow connected in my mind to OD’s slowness… not that we have important info here to others, but is it in any way conceivable that OD could be experiencing some sort of *practice* hacking by this/these entities? Or maybe others?

September 19, 2013

You should reconsider the name is my only suggestion. I mean, who here wants to have E.D.? —

I agree with Parliament….

September 19, 2013

Yay all around! (:

September 19, 2013

I don’t feel that it’s trying to split and fracture it. You have good intentions in mind.

September 19, 2013

ryn: sorry my comment was tongue in cheek, letting you know how keen I am for your place to get up and running. I have been here since 2000 so I am not giving in easily just had enough of a site that seems to be so ignored. I went to ITW with Dave and stayed there as long as it went, it died a death and we lost all our writings. Luckily I had most on OD but lost notes. <br> I am excited about your new site and seriously believe the DM at this place has had enough and has lost his mojo.

Thanks for the update and for reassuring us that the DM isn’t going to abandon us! I LOVE OD!! 🙂

September 19, 2013

Sounds good to me. =)

*tx
September 19, 2013

waiting and keeping an eye on news of the grand opening

September 19, 2013
September 19, 2013

Thank you for your note and your complete honesty. I’m happy to hear that the DM is actively trying to resolve these issue. Maybe he should have been more public with his efforts so people would not think he has been deserting OD. I think you both deserve a lot of credit for all that you both do here. I’ve been to Prosebox and I’m not impressed. My loyalty is right here. Thanks again.

September 19, 2013

Thanks for the info.

Thanks for letting us know what’s up.

September 19, 2013

Thanks for the info Eric. Can’t wait to check out your new site when it’s ready. Thanks also to the DM for his efforts to resolve the issues with OD. It’s appreciated. ………..

I renewed my subscription (for a year) earlier today but it hasn’t shown up yet. Subscription number through Pay Pal: S-0RM581290F496720M Please apply this soon. Thank you.

September 19, 2013

great news! I’ll be cross posting as long as you have privacy features like od has… good luck!!!

Nice news and I do like hearing directly from you. Thanks for being straight up. I’m sure you’ll keep us posted.

September 20, 2013

Ryn: *Whew!* Thanks! And best of luck with your own website! By the way, speaking of Note History, that’s the one area where I really feel OD is lacking, because while we have it, we can’t actually search it by specific words nor can we save it, unlike others’ notes, thus we only preserve a one-sided conversation. So having those two features would be high on my wish list.

September 20, 2013

can’t believe there are people who think what you are doing is awful. i’m waiting for your site. i will check it every couple of days to see what’s going on. take care,

Subscription Details Date of sign up: Sep 19, 2013 Subscription Name: Open Diary Subscription Renewal Subscription Number: S-0RM581290F496720M Item Number: ODP12 Subscription Terms: $30.00 USD for 12 months Thank you for helping out. 🙂

Thanks for all you do to keep OD up and running! Be sure to keep us posted about new happenings with ED.

Is something wrong with OD’s FB page? When I try to go there it automatically redirects me to this instead: https://www.facebook.com/open.diary

there are a lot of :bugs: inside the programing in OD. i suspect it must take much of Bruce’s time to keep it operating as it malfunctions most often on a holiday..but then you know that. i suspect i will run both ED and OD. i have a lot of history tied up in the diary titled oulin, will i be able to move the back pages too? i think oulin’s diary goes back to 2004..

September 22, 2013

Hi, I updated to OD+ (6mo. subscription) and my diary hasn’t upgraded. It’s been about a week. Who do I talk to? ~

September 24, 2013

I have been informed that my diary seems to be a problem child for mostly everyone who tried to access/read it. I myself repeatedly get this error message for nearly everything I try to do (read, note, bookmarks, etc): Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server error ‘80040e31’ Timeout expired /entryview.asp, line 306 Is there anything that can be done?

For some reason the link to get into previous Readers Choice entries is not working. OD may not be dying, but the ongoing issues are more than a little frustrating. I don’t think it’s a lot to ask for a site that runs a bit smoother. I think we are all used to the odd hiccup from our favourite sites, but OD has been going through the longest case of site hiccups I’ve ever seen. I’m looking forward to your site.

September 25, 2013

THANKS FOR THE UPDATE. CAN’T WAIT FOR YOUR SITE.

September 25, 2013

Really, the state of Open Diary is very sad. It’s been neglected by the Diary Master and is now dying a slow death.

OD is not dying? I think that is a matter of opinion.

September 26, 2013

Thomas: My husband and I have been unable to leave 2 weeks plus notes. Starting today we get the Time out message even trying to get here. Sorry to bother you.

September 27, 2013

Excited. Thanks.

I disagree that OD is not dying. People are jumping from the ship daily. That said, is there anything going on with the timeouts and loading issues? I haven’t been able to read a good portion of my friend’s diaries for over a month now. One friend’s diary in particular always gives me a timeout message and it’s beyond annoying.

I just paid for a subscription renewal yesterday and it isn’t showing up on my account. I recall seeing a message when I first renewed to send my receipt, but I have no clue where to send that because the other form apparently doesn’t work anymore. Please advise; it expires this week.

Hi Eric, I am hoping you can help me please – I subscribed to OD plus on the 25th September, and my credit card has been charged but my account is still showing the basic option – do you know how I can fix this? Completely understand if you no longer look after this given your new site – if this is the case, just let me know (best of luck with the new venture – I hope it goes really well for you)

I meant to say that I already emailed information@opendiary.com, but there was no response.

September 29, 2013

Thanks for that update – I’m looking forward to being part of your new site while remaining on OD (and maybe PB too)!

September 29, 2013

Things are a lot better… A big thank you to whoever did what…

November 11, 2013

Glad to hear it. I love this site and would be gutted if it died off. I think OD has something uniquely special about it. Good luck with Easy Diary. I will definitely check that out.

Hey EWS, I stumbled across something that disturbed me on someone’s entry. I’m not sure to what extent this site monitors things like this, or if it’s appropriate for me to mention this, but this person was talking about fantasizing about “children being raped”. Yuck I even hate typing that. I just feel like this is a pretty serious issue & wonder if there’s a way to get this person help before

heaven forbid, they do something terrible. Here is the entry (near the bottom). http://www.opendiary.com/entryview.asp?authorcode=D816673&entry=10144&mode=date I know this place is anonymous so I doubt anything can be done but figured I’d mention it on the off chance, because like I said it’s disturbing. Sorry to leave such a horrible note.