The Future

I wanted let you know that I ‘started’ the creation of my own diary site. It will be at http://easydiary.ewsentinel.com so keep your eyes peeled for that. I can’t comment on an approximated publishing date yet, as I just started writing it over the weekend, but I’ll update you all when I’m ready to publish.

"EWSentinel’s Easy Diary" will be similar to OD and have an OD-like feel to it, but different enough to not be considered a copy, for legal reasons.

Some info:

  • It will be made with newer programming technologies than OD.
    • OD is was written in Classic ASP, ED will be written in ASP.NET, which is Microsoft’s current programming platform.
  • The WYSIWYG editor is the modern editor from Telerik.com (those are the controls that I’m current using for business customers), and works in all modern and legacy browsers.
  • Bookmarks will not be used. Instead "Favorites" will perform a dual function for keeping track of diarists that you like to read and who can read you.
  • The first publishing will be a "beta" release. What that means is that it will be a dynamic release and still in development, but it will be available to users to help flesh out bugs and issues.
  • The initial beta release will be a scaled down version of what ED will eventually become.
  • The initial beta release will be ad driven.
    • Possible future paid account options may be made available. I’m still on the fence on that one.


http://twitter.com/Ewsentinel
http://youtube.com/EWSentinel
http://youtube.com/EWSentinelGames

Log in to write a note

Very nice. Keep us posted.

September 16, 2013

You rock EWS!

Mns
September 16, 2013

Oh. Cool!

Mns
September 16, 2013

But wait … will you still be involved here?

EWS
September 16, 2013

RYN [MsNoSign]: I will still be here on OD (I love it here) and doing my current admin until the DM stays to stop. Like I mentioned on PB, “That’s the main reason that I’m doing it. I want full control. I want to do updates, something that the DM has refused to allow me to do over the years. I’ve asked for it no less than a dozen times. lol” “A need? I don’t know. However, there’s a “want” on my end. lol Even if it’s never used by anyone, I already own ewsentinel.com, so adding a subdomain won’t cost me anything. ;)” http://www.prosebox.net/entry/11410/ Eric

Mns
September 16, 2013

excellent, thank you. exactly what i wanted to hear.. and more 🙂

oh my humble gratitude! i am with you! oh yes!

September 16, 2013

great news!

September 16, 2013

Congratulations!

September 16, 2013

I’m curious: how will you have time to maintain your own site *and* keep up with admin duties over here? (I don’t intend this question in a critical, accusatory way at all! What I’m really after is what your secret is for accomplishing all that and conquering the world, because I want to conquer the world too.)

I’m interested! Sounds appealing!

September 16, 2013

I appreciate everything you have done for all of us here. I will support you in this venture for sure.

Back to Favorites…I like it! I’ll definitely be looking forward to it. Thank you, EWS!!

EWS
September 16, 2013

RYN [krebiz]: I won’t know for sure until I get to that point, but I’ve been doing application and website development for over 15 years, and have been an admin here on OD for around 6 years, and I’m confident that I’ll be able to manage it with my regular (day) job as a developer. 🙂 Eric

September 16, 2013

Will we be able to post images? She asks humbly.

EWS
September 16, 2013

Oops. I didn’t mean to use my admin tag to reply to you [krebiz]. Sorry about that. (it’s habit) 🙂 Eric

September 16, 2013

Then good luck and godspeed, EWS 🙂 I look forward to seeing a nice, fresh site with up-to-date technology.

EWS
September 16, 2013

RYN [Georgette]: You will be able to post/display images and video hosted by a 3rd party hosting server (e.g., PhotoBucket, YouTube, etc.), but ED won’t be hosting the images or video. Eric

YES!!!! So happy to see this! It is always nice to be a part of a site where someone is actually involved in it and cares whether it is functional or not. Looking forward to it! 😀

Nicely done! I’d pay in a heartbeat. You’re gonna need a revenue stream to keep things going, I would imagine.

EWS
September 16, 2013

RYN *Private Note*: I know that importing from OD is an important question that many people have, and I’ll have to look into that when I get to that point in the development process. But I’m not ready to consider that yet. However, thinking off the top of my head, there might be an XML import that I can do (ASP.NET has some real good XML tools built in). OD does allow XML exports. At thepoint that it’s an XML file on your computer, it’s your property, not OD’s. Eric

September 16, 2013

I am so thankful for this. I love my OD friends….I hate PROSEBOX….I want to be able to have a page I can add colors to and such. I can’t wait to see how yours comes out…hoping I can get all my friends to go there…and that a paid subscription will be available soon after it opens so we can do what we are use to doing. I realize you have worked hard at OD and so many of us appreciate you.

September 16, 2013

Wow diary sites are becoming like buses, you wait all day for one… etc etc. You’ll have a good start off with a WYSIWYG editor cause that’s the main thing missing from PB that’s probably not going to be put on there any time soon. Will be interested to see how it turns out.

September 16, 2013

ryn: ha ha, i totally get it. I feel the same and I wish you luck and ease of coding on the new venture! I hope I didn’t make you mad spouting off half cocked with info I don’t really know much about. I wasn’t trying to propagate misinformation! I was just thinking out loud. 🙂

Yay! Thank you EWS 🙂

Excellent news! Thank you.

September 16, 2013

Eric, your dedication speaks for itself. Let us know when you’re ready to beta-test that baby, and I’m in.

September 16, 2013

I applaud your effort but all this reinventing the wheel bothers the hell out of me. Why can’t OD be rewritten in a new language and why can’t our current diaries slide right into it. I think we forget that OD has many many many features that these new copies do not have and probably never will have. OD also has our personal histories – I do not want to import my diary into another diary with different or no formatting. And my pictures are as precious as my words – I know that sounds egotistical and I’m sorry, but I mean it. The pictures and their connections to the words are valuable and they are HERE at OD. I realize the DM owns this place and I realize he is not around much or at all, but I think OD is the place that needs to be fixed, not two or more new sites. Having said that, I guess I’ll just go along with whatever everybody else wants to do. I’m not a leader, or a programmer, or anything like that.

September 16, 2013

I’ll keep an eye out.

September 16, 2013

I think the worst part about this will be that now the front page will be flooded with more “I’m jumping ship to this new diary site.” entries than we already have. Which I think just encourages more worrying. I think its a pity with all the interesting entries we have there is so much focus on “Hey guys I will be cross posting” I hate the way OD is used as an advertising platform for OD poachers.

September 16, 2013
September 16, 2013

Hugs.

September 16, 2013

Very exciting! Please keep us updated. ^_^

September 16, 2013

Wow – this is exciting!

September 16, 2013

Sweet. Good luck! (:

September 16, 2013

YEAH!!!!!! Will we be able to import our diary from OD?

September 16, 2013

Congrats :). It’s your prerogative if you want to start it, and I laugh at the way people in PB got angry because of your announcement. If you promise that you won’t encourage people to bitch about OD or the DM and even PB in your new site, then I will make an account in there to support you :). But my main No1 site is still OD.

September 17, 2013

Looking forward to the beta release! OD will always be home for me, but if this site goes down, I can’t imagine a better option than something made by you.

EWS
September 17, 2013

RYN *anonymous noter*: One of the things that I want to do is make instructional videos for the help section for both here on OD and ED when it’s up and running. I don’t know about anyone else, but being ‘shown’ how to do something goes a long way with me. 🙂 Eric

September 17, 2013

I wait for more updates and good luck.

September 17, 2013

This is the best news ever Ewes. I knew you were going to do this and I was waiting for it. I hope if you make it a paying site it is cheap enough for people in other countries. our dollar is not worth what yours is and OD was too expensive for me. we had a neat diary site ITW and everything was free and we could leave pics in notes. Block people do all sorts of stuff and it cost the administrator next to nothing.

September 17, 2013

I love the way people are asking you to promise something when you are offering what you are offering. chuckles

September 17, 2013

Thank you for answering my note. I do not understand why and how the DM can just ignore this place. I’m sure he once was proud of it. It is really a special place – much nicer than any of the other blog sites and the social network places. I wonder if we could petition him to do something or let you do something to save it. Maybe nominate him for a nobel prize and guilt him into it.

September 17, 2013
September 18, 2013

Good news, I’m hoping for good luck and success for you!

September 18, 2013

Also, if you have blocking you’ll be unstoppable!

September 18, 2013

sweet!

I would be willing to pay something along the lines of $2-3 a month to keep a place like that running. This has just gotten to be ridiculous. You could do something really nice. Obviously, there’s a market for this. Please keep us posted.

September 18, 2013

Hello there EWS…I hope that you realize that there are some talented writers on OD…The Diary Master never understood the relationship between George Martin and the Beatles…what say you young Danialson? You want to produce some great writers on your site or just ignore them? Of course you need to meet someone who knows a bit about writing…so hello EWS

September 18, 2013

waiting to be able to log in.

September 18, 2013

Oh. That would be really, really cool.

September 18, 2013

hi…I can’t write an entry..can only enter a title…sure could use your help.

September 19, 2013
September 21, 2013

watching this space then.Hope your dreams come true.

September 28, 2013

I love this entry!

km
October 23, 2013

My entries are missing, and I can’t download them either. I can only occasionally log in and can only occasionally read and leave notes. I read your entry that said things are better. Really? Not for me.