The Heat Is On, A Programmer’s Tale

My wife, like me, is a computer programmer. She’s been with her current employer for 17 years. A year ago they hired a new CIO (head of the entire IT department). The CIO they brought in is…not a good person. At some point he decided that he didn’t want an IT department, so he decided to put in a plan into place to gut the whole department. We know this because he called an IT department meeting yesterday to announce as much. My wife has suspected that he was going to do something like this for months and has been job hunting. Now she’s really concerned and doubling her efforts. She hasn’t been sleeping very well for months because of it.

Oh don’t worry, he said that he was going to hire someone to come in and retrain everyone for their new roles…wink, wink. Keep your fingers crossed everyone, I suspect that this is going to be a bumpy ride.

Log in to write a note
April 13, 2018

Oh man, that sucks and I’m sorry for your wife – how can you be a CIO and not have an IT department? What are you the C of if there is no I??

EWS
April 13, 2018

@thediarymaster IKR?! I was wondering the same thing. He’s probably telling his buddies, “Dude! I’ve got the SWEETEST gig! I’m the manager of NOTHING! I just sit in my office all day and pretend to yet at people.” lol

April 13, 2018

@ews I would take that job 🙂

April 13, 2018

How can you marry a programmer??

EWS
April 13, 2018

@iamwilliam Wait… Are you talking to me or my wife? 😆

April 13, 2018

@ews BOTH!!!

April 14, 2018

I’d be packing my bag ASAP and moving on. Resign. Sticking around for a tap on the shoulder is no fun. She’ll find work elsewhere. Then again. I don’t know what your employment situation is like in your neck of the woods.

April 14, 2018

I was wondering the same as the DM.  It sounds like someone was promoted above their competence