The one who got away…

I can’t be the only one who yearns for the one who got away. My heart still flutters when I think of him. The man who I can never be with. It started 15 years ago. It was amazing. Everything was amazing. He was amazing. I loved him hard. I still lOve him. It just couldn’t be at the time. So I moved on. He moved on. We are with other people. I’ve tried to forget him. I CAN’T. We still talk. He still tells me he loves me. He was everything. He’s in his relationship and I’m in mine. But the things we had with each other aren’t there with our current significant others. I’m always sad I’m going to live my life always yearning for the love of my life.  I think of other women and I know I’m not the only one who has lived this way. Just going through the motions of their marriage and not truly deeply in love. It’s very sad and lonely. I saw him at the store on Christmas Eve. My heart almost jumped out of my chest. The most gorgeous man. We couldn’t say hi to each other, we were with our spouses. But we locked eyes intensely. No I’m not cheating. I just long for the love we had. I long for him. I don’t have the same connection with my husband at all. No intimate,in every way, connection. Never have. We are more like business partners and friends. It’s so empty living this way. Sigh…….. maybe in another life

Log in to write a note
February 16, 2018

It’s so hard knowing THE ONE is out there and you can’t touch him.

If you can’t be with the one you love, love the one you’re with…

February 16, 2018

This is just a thought, but why did you marry your current husband if you were not truly in love with him? Forgive me if i seem rude or intrusive, but that just doesn’t make much sense to me. Why stay in a stale marriage if you know you are not with the right person?

Also….What is it that you find so appealing about this other guy, aside from his looks? Why did it not work the first time? I know you may think you love him, but that feeling you have is a feeling that dies over time. I am guessing here, but i am going say you weren’t together very long…perhaps a short-lived, passionate affair of some kind??? If that’s tge case, i assure you that had you stayed together for a long time, those intense feelings of love would diminish in time….My point is this….It’s easy to convince ourselves in true love and soul mates etc…as such, it is easy to fantasize about “the one who got away”, but i believe the reality is that there is no such thing as “the one” or anything like that. I believe passion will always wane over time, irregardless of who you are with. .My advice would be to either accept this and try to remain happy in your current relationship, or to accept that love isn’t real and end your sham of a marriage. No sense in being miserable. Either way, i don’t bekieve your fantasy about this other man does you any good. It only serves to make you miserable.

That said, i do believe many people, women in particular live very similar lives, indulging in idle fantasies of a similar nature. Hope my advice helps somewhat.

February 16, 2018

It is easy to romanticize and glorify past relationships when you are no longer with the person. Trust me I spent some time doing it myself before meeting my husband. I am curious as to the back story of all of this as well. I do hope if your are truly missrable in your current marriage you will find a way out. Best of luck.