Boo! Oh, wait a minute, wrong holiday.

I am thankful for my Troy and Abed cup and the hubby that touches his to mine and sings, "Troy and Abed in the morning!" with me. He bought those for us last Christmas. I have warm fuzzy feelings every time I reach for it and I use it on my most happy days. 

Whenever The Babe shows me a new piece of art and she has automatically signed it, ‘AimeeO loves Mom’, it reminds me how blessed I am that she exists. 

Arms and smiles and hugs, and shouts of "Gogie!!" when my grandchildren see me down the hall at school, everyday. The shout is exactly as excited each time even though I am the same old Grandma.

Speaking of Grandmas, I think mine, gone well over 20 years now, has been paying me some visits. At least, she seems to keep showing up in my mirror.  I never thought looking at my aging face would bring back memories and gratitude but it does. Doesn’t stop me from moisturizing though, I can tell you that.

 I am especially thankful for my two older daughters. We have gone through a lot together. They are both amazing young women/wives/moms and it is humbling when I realize how much and how little I had to do with that. 

There is much more to be grateful for than there is to grieve over because even things I grieve over remind me of something to be glad about.  I suddenly feel so set up. Ha ha haha! Thanks Lord!

 

****************************************************************************************

 In Sandy soil I plant this seed, If even only I do heed.

 

In death is life; won’t be denied, grown by tears of sorrow cried.

 

The truth is harsh, the babes are dead, I’ll hold mine closer in their stead.

 

It’s all I have and know to do. I don’t admit those lives are through.

 

I will not waste this plot of land, it will not wither ‘neath my hand.

 

Come here my Love, look in my eyes,

 

Do you know how dear you are to me….?

Log in to write a note
November 28, 2013

I love how positive you are about everything. What an awesome example you are for your posterity. RYN: I take it that you enjoyed all that anatomy jargon. 🙂

November 28, 2013
November 28, 2013

A lovely tribute to your grandmothers…and I can understand the moisturizers as I watch Denise fight that battle with the mirror, too. I’m just thankful she’s here to wear those lines…. You have a blessed holiday, and Happy Thanksgiving!

November 28, 2013

The mirror becomes more revealing each time I look and see my father, mother and great-grandmother who was a beautifully wrinkled old woman. Though I too, I hope to look as lovely when I reach 89 years old. There is so much to be grateful for, especially my son and my friends. Hope your day was very blessed.

November 28, 2013

Zack calls my wrinkles roads lol! Hugs

December 1, 2013

Awww that’s sweet. I’ll never see one of my grandmas in my face for sure, but I wonder if I’d ever see the other one.

December 2, 2013

This is lovely to read on so many levels that resonate with me! I haven’t yet seen my Grandma in the mirror but I have recently seen my mom holding my granddaughter in a picture and then realized it was me! It is exactly that humbling thankfulness I feel when I look at my grown children, too. God is so good!

December 3, 2013

so happy you wrote..and equally happy for such a positive entryÂ….

December 5, 2013

🙂 *HUGS* Was just speaking of you and your talented daughter a few days ago 🙂

December 9, 2013

beautiful!

December 12, 2013

blessings