Self surrender

Self-respect is the root of discipline. The sense of dignity grows with the ability to say no to one’s self.             Abraham Joshua Heschel

At the beginning of last year I gave up drinking, drugs, and smoking. It has been an isolating time as I don’t know many people who don’t do at least one of these things. I had to stop these things as they were making me feel so bad about myself. I also gave up chocolate which was my one terrible food vice.

Recently, I started on a new medication for my depression which has required me to give up certain foods I love (avocado, matured cheese, cured meat, raisins, smoked salmon, soy sauce, miso, tofu,  vegemite, pickled fish, sour cream) and caffeine including tea, coffee and colas. The alternative was another medication that would make me put on a significant amount of weight.

I have found it hard remembering what I can’t eat, feeling embarrassed when explaining why I can’t eat these things and avoiding  saying ‘why’ I am on medication and that it will probably be for the rest of my life. However, I have been most resentful initially about not being able to have a coffee or tea or cola when I need a burst.

The wierd thing is, I have been doing this for a couple of weeks now and I have noticed the strangest phenomenon. My apetite has radically reduced and I am losing the urge to have those things.

The secret of discipline is motivation. When a man is sufficiently motivated, discipline will take care of itself.             Sir Alexander Paterson

My motivation is to find out what it feels like not to be depressed and anxious. Yyesterday I had my first sense of that. I was driving to my mum’s to pick her up and noticed that I was deadly calm. I can’t ever remember feeling that way. I felt so calm that I felt contentment.

Some people regard discipline as a chore. For me, it is a kind of order that sets me free to fly.                                   Julie Andrews

Yesterday I did all of my washing, ironing, cleaning and spent the afternoon shopping  buying some new clothes. It was good to come home and get all of the ironing done, knowing that when I wake up in the morning it is ready to go.

I have also been ploughing through my reading for university, which makes me feel on top of things there.

At work I have put in some extremely  late nights this week, which paid off with an off-site planning day I arranged where I asked the 14 people that report to me all to prepare some content to present and deliver on the day. It went really well and they gave me great feedback. I even went out for a soft drink with them after work, it has been some time since I have had the desire to go out on a Friday night.

All in all, I am feeling positive about this next phase of my life.

Nothing of importance is ever achieved without discipline. I feel myself sometimes not wholly in sympathy with some modern educational theorists, because I think that they underestimate the part that discipline plays. But the discipline you have in your life should be one determined by your own desires and your own needs, not put upon you by society or authority.                                                                                                                                                              Bertrand Russell

Log in to write a note

sooo interesting that you wrote this…i was just thinking about this today…we must be disciplined… my sis is stressing bk. her son is having social and emotional issues….i secretly blame her, for a lack of any type of discipline for the past 13 yrs. of his life… anyway…nicely written.

October 1, 2006

just go thru it – you’ll get there. you learn to live without all of those things and find simple joy the control you have over your life. i don’t really drink coffee – which is quite funny since ppl are always saying we should do coffee. i think your body has to adjust to being off caffeine. when i’m healthy – i do fine without caffeine, and sometimes i tried to use it to stay up, but if

October 1, 2006

i wasn’t up to it – it made no difference. i’d fall asleep anyway. as time passes, you realise what is really important to you and you forget about what you’ve given up – you just have to replace it with meaningful things in your life, and you don’t notice the difference. and you find meaning in the new things. like mentoring the boy – i think that’s a really great thing to do.

Congratulations on your self-discipline; it whas certainly set you “free to fly” Excellent quotes; I’ve copied some of them to inspire myself in areas where at present I’m not reaching my own expectations.

October 2, 2006

it sounds like you’re doing fine and i’m sure you can go thru it. i was on anti-depressants a few times since i was 21, and my boyfriend is currently on prozac for depression. it can be really draining, but i do believe things will get better for u.

October 2, 2006

Food is my weakness. I so lack self control when it comes to food. I love to eat what I love to eat. I worry about my health, but not enough to stop myself. And I have this delusion I am a good cook and that hurts me because I enjoy what I cook. so I eat too mcuh. I miss when I had discipline when I was in the Military. I was so proud of myself then. i was in the best shape of my life. Now I am a bit overweight. I have weight more so not as bad as I could be but I know I am not doing what is best for me and I want to be around for as long as I can for my kids and Lucy.

October 8, 2006

I don’t think I could ever give up chocolate. 🙂

October 10, 2006

you shouldn’t undervalue your mentoring. every little thing helps in this world – i’m sure you will make a difference to his life. there’s not enough kindness in this world. life takes strange turns doesn’t it? i think we all have our personal demons, especially if you’re a bit predisposed to feeling blue, but you just need to embrace life, have faith and constantly push forward.

October 10, 2006

i think maybe you should just be honest about the fact that you do suffer from depression – a lot of people will suffer from it in their lives, and it really is debilitating. but i think you should just smile and think of it positively – this is one way of you dealing with it and getting on with life. we all have our way of getting through this life and finding ways to be happy.

October 10, 2006

not to sound like an extremist – but i think living in a such a simple way (avoiding alcohol, drugs, smoking) is really admirable. i can do those things – but prefer not to because i like the clarity i have when i’m not under the influence of something. and without those things, i find that i have more focus. i think you should just smile; what better proof of your success and normality than

October 10, 2006

appearing and being completely normal? so you have to eat a little differently, and you take a pill or two – but you’re healthy for it and you’re happy and together – isn’t that what matters?