Zest for romance, (or my rich inner life)

“Adventure is something you seek for pleasure, or even for profit, like a gold rush or invading a country; … but experience is what really happens to you in the long run; the truth that finally overtakes you.”
Katherine Anne Porter

I think I am starting to work out what one my new year’s resolution is going to be. As I have been successful the past two years with giving up things, this year I am going to focus on letting go of something I have outgrown, that is, feeling hardened by experience. I am ready to shed the skin of my cynicism.

"We should be careful to get out of an experience only the wisdom that is in it and stop there; lest we be like the cat that sits on a hot stove-lid; he will never sit on a hot stove-lid again–and that is well; but also she will never sit on a cold one anymore."
Mark Twain

I had a dream last night that I had been offered a place at a school in the states, to learn how to write. I was so overjoyed but wondering how it was going to be possible to stay and return to Australia. Then, a number of beautiful, large plants in ceramic pots arrived, all intricately wrapped, with a card from the school to congratulate and welcome me. This small touch made me conflicted about returning home, I didn’t even want to leave the plants (the healthy looking living things) behind, let alone the opportunity to travel again and learn.

Then a long forgotten romantic interest from my past enters stage right and my decision is made, I have to stay this time, to see whether I can milk romance for all its worth and weather love one more time.

“I don’t believe people are looking for the meaning of life as much as they are looking for the experience of being alive.”
Joseph Campbell

Now, I just need to go out once in a while…he-he.

Log in to write a note

What a marvellous Mark Twain quote! I always enjoy his humour, but this one also has so much wisdom in it! I know I am too prone to avoid all “stoves” once I have been burnt by one; I’ve copied your quote to remind myself that not all are hot. ” I am ready to shed the skin of my cynicism.” Yes, cynicism can be a thick, protective skin keeping out much of life’s goodness and richness. Best wishesfor your skin-shedding.

I love your writing. It’s honest and refreshing, like you’re sitting across from us in a coffee house and just talking about the things on your mind.

December 31, 2006

Your quotes are thoughtfully appropriate, MFP. Wishing you a very happy new year and with resolutions that bring you joy.

January 4, 2007

Now there’s a mature resolution if ever I heard one…