Fag Hag

One last hoorah out before leaving for Iraq… and it was exactly what I needed!  I had the wildest weekend out in quite some time.  I’m pretty sure this past weekend’s antics even surpassed my birthday’s in terms of what would be deemed ‘socially acceptable’.  I was in a form that, at one time, was fairly near my everyday norm, but has now become seemingly rare.

Let me preface all of this by saying that if there was ever any doubt in my mind that my super hot coworker, Chris, was gay, it has all been cleared up.  Chris was one of the first people I met when I began working at my present employment.  I immediately found him very attractive.  He walks, talks, and acts just like any other male in my office, although now that I think about it, he does have a much more fashionable sense of style.  But I digress.  After my first week, I spent a couple of hours catching up with my brother, telling him about all of the things I’d learned and the people I’d met.  The tone in my voice must’ve changed when I mentioned Chris’s name, and I suppose my brother thought that I might make a move on him.  "Uh, Rachel, he’s gay."  Damn.

Ever since Chris and I decided to travel overseas together, we’ve begun hanging out a little more — long lunch hours here and there, shopping sprees for last minute war zone supplies.  Midweek, he asked if I’d like to accompany him to a club in Denver this past weekend.  I readily agreed considering I hadn’t yet explored the big city.  The more we discussed our plans, the more ‘to do’ things we added to the list.

I met Chris at his house around 4:30pm.  Typical bachelor pad — modern, simple, and stylish, yet a bit messy.  We immediately embarked on the hour long drive to Denver.  First stop, Sushi Den.  We enjoyed miso soup while watching the chef prepare nigiri and firecracker rolls.  After a delicious meal, we headed into downtown to the 16th Street Mall.  From there, we parked and stopped at the movies to see… "Blades of Glory".

Now, I admittedly despise Will Ferrell movies.  "Talladega Nights" was incredibly boring, and I didn’t even think "Old School" was that hilarious.  "Blades of Glory", however, was well worth the $9.75 ticket price.  I can’t remember the last time I laughed so hard over a movie.  The entire audience was practically in tears, and I spent most of the movie doubled over in my seat holding my stomach through a roar of belly laughs.  Good times. 

After the film, while chatting over some Starbucks coffees, Chris called up a buddy of his that planned to meet us at the club.  As I was returning to my seat from enjoying a smoke, I overheard, "Hmm, I don’t think she’d mind.  I’ll ask her, but plan on seeing us there."  I grinned at him slyly as I asked what was going on.  He said, "How would you feel about going to a strip club?  A gay strip club?"  I’m in!

The bar was jam packed in the middle of an entire street of hole-in-the-wall dives.  I’m pretty sure it didn’t even have a name.  The front windows were completely blacked out save for the blue, neon glow of Bud Light advertisements.  There wasn’t a cover to get in, and Long Island Ice Teas were on special for two bucks.  And yes, they were strong.  The dancers each had their own persona, complete with a costume and routine.  They all could dance well, and even I was jealous of the fancy moves.  Every man on stage was also surprisingly attractive, and though it wasn’t a full nude joint, there were plenty of oiled down muscles and bulging crotches to ogle at.

We spent a good hour slurping down drinks and watching countless pretty faces prance across the stage before finally heading to Tracks Nightclub, a near exact replica of Babylon for all you Queer As Folk fans.  The main dance floor boasted an array of originally mixed techno; colorful lights, strobes, and fog; and hot-bodied boys wearing nothing but neon booty shorts and dancing on stage waving flashy, glowing flags above their heads.  The smaller back room housed a much more eighty’s feel with a transvestite DJ spinning songs such as "Dancing Queen" and BeeGees classics.  I must’ve danced for three hours straight, breaking only to refill my empty glass and down another shot of vodka.  At some point in my drunken, sweaty state, I decided that it would be a good idea to take off the three inch stilletos that were killing my feet.  I’m pretty sure I remained barefoot the rest of the evening.

Throughout the night, Chris would grab my hand and lead me around the club, just as most of my girlfriends do, and he never missed a beat on the dance floor.  It seemed like he knew everyone there, and by the time the club lights glared down, signaling for us to all go home, I had made a couple of handfuls of new friends.  No one had quite spent all of their energy, so we caravanned to a spontaneous house party at someone’s — but I’m not quite sure whose — fantastic loft.  Another hour of drinking, smokes, and a silly dice game ("Chug your drink with your eyes closed while holding your nose."), and Chris and I had both decided that we were absolutely starving.

IHOP!

Chris munched on breakfast, and I chowed down on a cheeseburger.  Just as the sun was peeking over the horizon, we headed back south to the Springs.  I, at first, thought I might just go ahead and drive the half hour from his place to mine.  Yeah, right.  He brought me down some blankets, and I tried to snooze on his couch.  I dozed off and on for about two hours, but it was entirely too bright in the den to actually sleep.  I peeled myself off the sofa around 9:15am, and I walked in the door to my apartment on the hour.  It was pointless for me to even attempt to go to bed, so I just lounged most of the day.  I did get up early afternoon to grill some burgers, but I snuggled right back under my blanket just as WrestleMania 23 came on.  Perfect ending to a perfect day… er, night.

Needless to say, I felt like complete ass on Monday.  I think that night’s sleep more than made up for the lack thereof over the weekend, though.  I was back to my normal, perky self yesterday.  Chris and I went to a fantastic Vietnamese diner for a pho’ lunch, and afterwards, we made a downtown Starbucks run for chai lattes.  Yes, I realize that hanging out with nothing but gay men is not going to get me laid, but I am going to miss my fag hag status while overseas.

Speaking of overseas, I got an unexpected email from the head honcho yesterday.  Our company owns several trailers (as opposed to tents) in the housing area on Camp Victory.  A few days ago, a mortar made it into the camp and destroyed a trailer next to one of ours.  A similar incident happened the very next day.  Fortunately, no one was hurt in either incident.  Dennis said that he wasn’t trying to sca

re me, but that he felt it would be irresponsible of him not to tell me these kinds of things.  Ryan, a coworker who just returned from abroad, has mentioned other incidents that occured during his stay, so it’s not like I’m all that surprised.  Hell, it’s a war zone.  I knew what I was getting myself into when I signed up.  I do think, though, that I will keep this little tidbit of information to myself — i.e., I’m not telling Mom.

I can’t believe I’m leaving a week from Sunday.  Every emotion about the change I will soon experience is starting to hit me all at once.  I’m not the slightest bit nervous or afraid, which is a little odd.  I expected to have at least a few jitters, but I don’t.  For the most part, I’m excited, but I’m also often finding myself submerged in thought about how this trip is going to change me — my personality, my compassion, my outlook on life.  I know it will, but I’m not sure yet how.

Cheers,
Felina

Log in to write a note

I should have known you were a Rachel; you’re beautiful, intelligent and stylish. Just found you so I’m going to dig through your past entries.

April 4, 2007

The club you went to was probably called “The Brig”. All blacked out window’s and a bud light neon above the door sounds accurate. It’s on colfax, right? Just caught you on the frong page and thought I’d drop in since you’re in CO.

April 4, 2007

sounds like such a fun night.

April 4, 2007

I’m using this entry on my next scholarship application. =). Especially the fag-hag part. Guaranteed success right there.

April 4, 2007

okay, and through all of this, I have two questions: 1. do they hvae no straight/bi male friends that will give you penis? 2. why did you feel like an ass on monday? it sounds like all was fab!

I usually hate Will Ferrell or however it’s spelled, too!! He’s a big annoying baby, I think.

ryn: Yeah, I will probably meet Dirk if they stay broken up. But I can’t just quit my job immediately to go meet him. I am trying to stay responsible and wait until the end of June, when I am supposed to quit because of a class. But who knows. There are a lot of IFs involved. He might get back with his girlfriend by then. Or he and I might get in a huge fight that ruins out relationship. Iknow I’m an idiot for meeting him, though. I don’t knwo what’s wrong with me.

April 4, 2007

OMG, what fun, I love to hang with gay men…but then again I am not trying to get laid by straight boys, LOL I think you are going to change drastically, as far as outlook on life, I don’t think that can be helped. Considering.

April 4, 2007

that sounds like a blast.. i had a close friend for a while who was gay and we had a great time before we lost touch

April 4, 2007

Will you be able to make Od entries whikle you’re over there? Will you get to shoot someone?

April 4, 2007

you are very very brave.

April 4, 2007

Sounds like you had a blast! will you be writing while you are gone?

April 4, 2007

Iraq, Only slightly more dangerous than Five Points, or LODO after midnight. Be Careful!

SOC
April 4, 2007

You’ll be in my prayers. Be safe!

April 4, 2007

your weekend sounds “fabulous”!!

April 5, 2007

There’s more to living then getting laid for instance fag hag status. If you wanted to really get laid there is no doubt that would happen for you….so why don’t you then? I think I know the answer 🙂 So when you are in Iraq are you going to disappear from the OD?

April 5, 2007

Sounds like you have a very full plate. Godspeed to you.

April 5, 2007

Sounds like a great night out!! Gay boys rock! I cant believe you are leaving so soon either. I hope you keep us updated from over there, if possible. 🙂

April 5, 2007

Yup can’t have sex with the gay dude that is just how do I put it, umm gross, no how about risky! Of couse you would have a line of men who would if they could. I often wonder what that must be like? I have to beg borrow and steal sex from woman:) Cool beans, I find that part of the world a complete mistery made you could shed some light on it! I know I’m wierd, sorry! HAA

April 5, 2007

God. Chris is so hot, buddy. It’s so not fair!

April 5, 2007

awww! sounds like a fun night, indeed! 🙂 i can’t believe you’re about to leave already… damn. *hugs*

:o)

April 5, 2007

I went to see Blades of Glory too, pretty funny…..I am glad you had such a good time. Gay friends can be the best!!!

April 6, 2007

Oh see great minds think a like! Yumm Colorado sushi..hmmmmmm fresh caught;)

April 8, 2007

i found you on random a few weeks ago and have been reading you since. Just thought i would note and let you know! You sound like a really interesting person and i love the way you write! have you ever thought of writing a book on your life? i think it would sell! take care!

Ooh…a hot chick sucking my blood! Who can argue with that???

RYN: Well, what else is there to do on a Friday? Fridays were meant for online goofing off!

April 13, 2007

Regarding your last note. I don’t have the time for that quiz, atleast not now. BUT, the thought of you suckin blood outta my neck is hot. No wait it is more then that. Its HAWT. Stay cool, stay wicked, and while you’re in that Green Zone, eat someone’s brains if that is what it takes to come back to us.

April 13, 2007

Interesting. 20 pints. WORK ITTTTT.

April 13, 2007

Well Rachel I would much rather you nibbled on my neck in real life….. That would indeed be fun. If that’s not possible then this is a distant second. Thanks R

April 13, 2007

uhm who doesn’t want to be a vampire?!

May 5, 2007

Hey, you’re a Rachel. Snap. And with the proper spelling too. Love love love the top note… “I should have known you were a Rachel; you’re beautiful, intelligent and stylish”. I shall preen at that too if it’s an indication of the name! Sounds like an excellent night out indeed. Dirty stop out. xxxx