Ouch (PICS)

I finally got that sweet, little, new ride I bought registered today.  Oh, wait.  I don’t think I even wrote about that!  Well, as some of you may remember, I traded in my beloved Pontiac when I moved here to Colorado back in 2006.  That damn car was my baby, but quite frankly, it just didn’t go in the snow.  I swapped it for a used Nissan Xterra, and I hated that stupid SUV from the day I signed the paperwork.  However, I got a good deal on it, and it served its purpose getting me from point A to point B in the worst of weather.

Now that I’ve lived here awhile, I’ve come to realize that our winters, though I bitch and moan about them incessantly, are really not that severe.  Not to mention, I have grand plans of moving to a much warmer climate.  Almost three months ago and after much deliberation, I upgraded.  I’m now the proud owner of a 2008 Audi TT, and my god, do I love that car.  I’m still discovering new features — such as the mini wipers that clean my headlights and the fact that the window rolls down a quarter of an inch when you open the door — every day, and I swear I’ve washed it more times than I’ve put gas in it.  I’m making up for the payment increase in a lower gas bill alone.

That being said, I’ve had hell getting my contract and registration completed.  Now, when you purchase a $42,000 car from a higher quality dealership such as Audi, you have certain expectations of your service.  At the original contract signing, the dealership was having issues with their financial software.  Maybe I should go work for them.  But I digress.  When the paperwork printed out, several figures were incorrect.  The manager just crossed them out, initialed next to the changes, and had me do the same.  I signed, and thought everything was a-okay.

Fast forward about two months.  My temporary tag was about to expire, and I had yet to receive notice from the county clerk that I could come register my car.  Not to mention, I still hadn’t received my first statement, either.  I called the dealership, and they informed me that they had received my contract back from the financial office that morning.  Apparently, all the extra markings weren’t acceptable.  Doh!  I resigned the new, correct contract, picked up an extended temp tag, and went about my way.

A week later, the dealership called to let me know that the DMV had received my lien information, and that I could now register my car.  I was about to head out for a business trip, so two weeks later when I returned, I parked my ass in a hard, plastic chair in the county clerk’s office and waited.  And waited.  And waited still some more.  I waited for almost three hours before I finally got to the counter, only for them to tell me that… I’d waited for nothing.  The dealership sent the wrong loan paperwork, and they forgot to include the VIN.  Yeah, that’s kind of an important number.

Fast forward again to today.  I got a postcard in the mail yesterday, notifying me that the correct paperwork had finally reached the DMV.  I stopped in as soon as they opened this morning, and as the clerk was handing me my new stickers, she said, "Okay, that will be $770.75."

What?!

I’ve never lived in a state where they didn’t figure the first year’s property taxes in as part of your lien.  It’s not that I don’t have the money for it, but jesus, somebody could’ve warned me.  Hell, that’s deducting a good chunk from the moving fund I’ve been saving up!  It was just totally unexpected.

My day did, however, brighten up a bit around lunch.  One of my supervisors was asked to do a briefing for the III Corps G3 in, none other than, Ft. Hood, TX.  He IM’d me to ask how full my plate was next week, and although I’m already doomed to working overtime for the next two, I prodded.  He knows that Texas is my soft spot, so he offered the trip to me.  He said he’d thought I might like a free ticket to see my honey.  I’ll be flying down a week from today for, literally, a 30 minute demo on Thursday, and I’m staying through Sunday.  All on the company dime!

Man, there’s a huge firework show going on near my apartment.  I have no idea what we’re celebrating, but it just scared the bejeezus out of me.  Had to walk outside to see what all the commotion was.  I haven’t heard blasts like that in quite some time.  I think I just flashbacked to Baghdad.  Not cool.

Anyway, here’s some pics of the new car in front of my, oh, so lovely apartment complex.

audi

audi

audi

audi
Fully loaded!

Cheers,
Felina

Log in to write a note
June 18, 2008

Congrats on the new car!

June 18, 2008

RYN: Well I figured there’s been so much about their dislike for each other, that them teaming up was a necessary progression. Also, I’m a nerd. 😛

June 18, 2008

That is such a hot car…I want one so bad…too bad I owe that much in student loans right now…I’m also thinking about moving to Colorado Springs…maybe…not sure…

June 18, 2008

I have loved that car for years! I’ve been wondering about the winters. I have a Jeep but it’s not 4 wheel drive. But I see tond of people around here with little BMWs and Mini Coopers so I figured it can’t be THAT bad…unless they just hole up all winter and don’t drive. Congrats, it’s beautiful!

June 18, 2008

Love it! I get you on the property tax thing. I’ve only lived in Tennessee before here, and there they don’t charge you property tax on a vehicle when you register it. All you pay yearly is 65 bucks for your sticker. I was shocked when I went to register my Nitro and my tags were $220 b’c of tax. Craziness, i tell ya

June 18, 2008

ryn:well then TX is perfect for you :)…You guys are a cuuuute couple…just looks like you go together well…

June 18, 2008

Oooh, shiny!

June 19, 2008

Sexy car.

June 19, 2008

I remember you writing about the car – mostly because I was THIS close to buying one back in 2002. It was, hands down, the most fun car I ever drove. It’s gorgeous girl, and it suits you.

June 19, 2008

Nice

ra
June 19, 2008

sweeeet ride

June 19, 2008

Man, those TT’s are SO freaking hot, love it. Cheers.

June 19, 2008

wow that is a lot if you don’t expect it! i pay 65 bucks or so! but the car is super cute!

June 19, 2008

Wow I love that car!!!

June 19, 2008

its niiiiice. it reminds me of something james bond would drive;)

June 19, 2008

Sweet car! Yes, one day I will have a car as beautiful as that (sighs) but for now, it’s full speed ahead in the ole buggy, Nissan Pathfinder. Yes, I hate it with a passion. Score! on the free trip to Texas!

June 19, 2008

That car is so hot!!!

June 19, 2008

very cute and sleek!!! Sorry about the endless paperwork crap. I know the feeling though!!

June 19, 2008

I so wanted that car *Pouts* LOL

Jen
June 19, 2008

Nice car 😉

June 19, 2008

Gorgeous!! I love my Trans Am, but I’m thinking it may finally be time to part with it…

June 19, 2008

i hate the dmv… and check your paperwork licance/reg shoulda been figured in at time of sale. odd…

June 19, 2008

The DMV in Colorado is the worst I’ve ever had to deal with. And in light of all that’s gone on with my driving privileges in recent months (*ahem*), the DMV and I have become quite intimate. One of us is not very happy about that. Guess which one?! Your car is awesome. Have fun with it!

i heart audis of all kinds, and esp the TT! 🙂

June 19, 2008

MMmm Audi. Sexy sexy…

June 19, 2008

wow nice new ride 🙂

June 19, 2008

Nice car!

June 23, 2008

love the car