Overnight Millioinaire

Funny that I just wrote about my mom’s interesting situation last night, and she got married this morning — a week early.  Not only does she have a new last name, she’s officially a millionaire.  I don’t think it’s really sunk in yet that my mom just married a lottery winner.  I’ll be visiting her in a mansion in Florida, and my grand plans for touring Ireland, Italy, and France may actually come to fruition… without spending a dime on a plane ticket.  Weird.

She called this morning to get our Verizon account number.  A few years ago, I added a line on my account for her so that we could split the bill and make it a bit cheaper for both of us.  She, of course, is moving her account onto a joint plan with her new husband.  Her contract already expired, so it won’t cost anything to remove the extra line.  However, I’m still going to have to cover the other half of the plan now.  My mom becomes a millionaire overnight, and my cell phone bill goes up.  Great.

Chuck was quite depressed last night.  Yesterday evening, he was sitting outside with his girls watching them play and chatting with me on the phone.  One of his ex-wife’s teacher friends was riding by his house on her bicycle.  Without a second thought, he shouted something friendly to her, and her response was a glare accompanied by the middle finger.  He laughed it off at the time, but the more he thought about it, the angrier and more upset he got.  He realizes that she only knows Jess’s side of the story, but it’s frustrating to him that his name equates to the devil in many people’s eyes.  It frustrates him that nobody understands what it was like being married to her and living with a leech for ten years.

After the kids went to bed, he invited Jeremy over.  He drowned his sorrows with a couple bottles of wine, and they sat on the front porch playing guitar for hours.  I got text messages all through the night talking about how much he loves me and how he can’t wait for me to be with him every day.  My phone beeped the last time at 4:30am.  I guess that’s when he finally fell asleep.

Obviously, I didn’t get much sleep myself, so I’m working from home today.  That’s one thing I do love about my job.  I can work whenever and from wherever in the world I need to.  I have two hefty projects that I need to get finished before my trip next week, so it looks like it will be a long, arduous weekend.  Ah, well.  It’s not like I really have any interest in going out with my honey so damn far away.

In other news, Chuck just returned home from a doctor appointment.  Let’s just say that, combined with me being on the pill, we are now doubly protected against an accidental pregnancy.  Thank god.  I had already consulted my GYN about a tubal libectomy, but now it won’t be necessary.  Besides, the procedure was much less invasive for him.

And excuse the random outburst, but Kashi TLC bars and Firefox 3 rock my socks off.

Cheers,
Felina

Log in to write a note
June 20, 2008

go mom, wastes no time….she is like my mom!! LOL, minus the millionaire!

congrats to your mom! what a life! and sorry he was so down; that just sucks. but he loves you soooo much; you two are adorable! <3

June 20, 2008

So that’s why she didn’t anwer the phone. GO MOM! Poor Chuck. Well at least he has you. That’s all he needs. That & his girlz of course ;p

June 20, 2008

you would think your mom would just add you to her plan and pay the bill for you! divorce sucks, but staying in a loveless marriage is even worse. at least now chuck can be happy with you:)

June 20, 2008

Congrats to your mom!! It is rough to be in Chuck’s position, but at least you know that he’s much happier with you and his girls.

June 20, 2008

Yeah, i got the snip, it’s really no big deal, aside from sitting on the couch for a day or two rotating bags of frozen peas on your lap.

June 20, 2008

I am jealous of your mom! LOL, I want to marry a lottery winner. 🙂 Yay for working from home, that is my dream…

June 20, 2008

That’s great! Get her to add you on to their plan! Kashi rocks my face too! :~)

June 20, 2008

Wow, she is lucky!!!! You should call him, and tell him you are now his step daughter, and to help a sista out! lol Just joking! Sorry to hear about the phone plan.. *HUGS*

June 20, 2008

You’d better plan a visit to me if you’re going to be in Florida!

June 20, 2008

thank you for the note! im still studying right now, but will likely be working for an OBGYN clinic as a medical assistant while i go back through nursing school. good news is that the practice has a midwife, so im hoping i can learn a lot from her, as that is what i eventually want to be.

June 20, 2008

The place that I go is CorePower Yoga, they’re all over Colorado. Look it up, there might be one in Co Springs!

June 21, 2008

wow that is very teacher like to flip him off in front of his children!

June 21, 2008

Ok, first off thanks for the note (and you know I truly mean that). Secondly I love your writing, photos and overall perspective on life. So I’m totally adding you to my mental collection of people I wish I were more like. Did I mention I LOVE the photos!!

June 22, 2008

Just when I thought I couldn’t be a bigger fan of yours I find out you’re a Law and Order junkie…WooHoo! Yep, you’re cool.

June 22, 2008

he snipped for you? now thats love!! *giggle* and poor chuck..what a bitch jess must be. i can only say that with time things may get better. im sure with you there things will be wonderful. and dude, why doesnt mom add you to HER plan, and you can pay her? i mean, seriosuly, you did her a favor…return it, mom! :o)

June 23, 2008

your momma is lucky, lol.

June 25, 2008

Wow….thats impressive about your moms new life. I totally understand how Chuck feels. In the eyes of some people I went about ending my marriage all wrong.