Speaking of the Lottery

Since I just wasted damn near an hour filling out a stupid survey, I decided I should write a real entry and elaborate on the story I mentioned in the lottery question.

About two and a half months ago, my mom broke off her relationship with the loser of a boyfriend, John, that she’d been seeing off and on since she and my dad divorced in 2002.  I thought this would be just like every time before, and they’d end up back together after just a few days.  Boy, was I wrong.

My mom almost immediately reopened her Match.com account (which is how she met John) and updated her profile.  Within just a couple of days, she received a ‘wink’ from a nice-looking man that lived nearby.  She had a nagging feeling that she’d seen him somewhere before, but she brushed that feeling aside and winked back.  The next day, he sent her a friendly message, and they indulged in several online conversations for about a week before finally deciding to meet for dinner.  A couple of days before their date, mom called.  She could hardly contain her excitement as she told me the story.

The nagging feeling that she recognized this man didn’t subside, so the queen of all snoopers began to do a little digging.  It didn’t take long for her to remember the news story she’d seen a little over a year before.  Early in the summer of 2007, a local man, a truck driver, from her small town in northern Georgia won the Mega Millions Georgia state lottery.  After taxes, he brought home a whopping $83 million.  He’d signed his first name to the last email he sent, and thanks to the power of Google and image searching, she realized… it was him.

About halfway through their first date, he revealed his secret.  She said they talked like they’d known each other for years.  According to mom, he’s just a down home, country boy at heart.  He’s invested in several real estate and business ventures, and he’s apparently very saavy.  He hasn’t squandered any of his money away, and he’s actually worth more now than just after collecting his winnings.  And this is after his accountant gives him $750,000 spending money every year.

Within just a couple of weeks, mom announced their engagement.  They’ll be married on the 27th.  Tomorrow is her last day of work (for good), and they’ve bought a mansion, unlike anything I’ve ever even seen on TV, in Edgewater, Florida.  I wish the realty company still had the virtual tour up, because I almost shit my pants when I saw it.  She picked up her new Mercedes last week, and the private jet should be arriving next month.  I’ve already been promised a trip to Paris next year.  And although she’s signing a prenuptial agreement, let’s just say that mom will have no financial worries for the rest of her life no matter how this plays out.  Not only is she getting a huge monetary wedding gift, she’ll be receiving a hefty anniversary present every year, as well.

Think I’ll see any real payout from this?  I doubt it.  I’ll probably just see more of my mom…

Cheers,
Felina

Log in to write a note
June 19, 2008

holy wow! way to go mom!!!

June 19, 2008

holly fuk! yea way to go MOM!

June 19, 2008

RYN thats cool! I love Austin 🙂

June 19, 2008

Oh my goodness. That’s insane! Lucky lucky mom!

June 19, 2008

wow, that’s amazing. A old friend of mine’s step-dad just won 10 mil on a scratch off ticket. What a life changing event that would be, no way i would squander that money, that would change my entire family’s lives for generations and generations to come!

June 19, 2008

Wow, that’s some seriously awesome shit. Good for your mom!

June 19, 2008

That is just amazing!!!!!!!! 🙂

June 19, 2008

Wow! How awesome

June 19, 2008

Wow! very cool for your mom!

June 19, 2008

How effin’ lucky is she?! Maybe I need to sign up for Match.com too! haha

June 19, 2008

whoa that seems like a movie! good for her!

June 20, 2008

will she adopt………….say me?? ~l~

June 20, 2008

Hold crap! Thats awesome!

ra
June 20, 2008

wow – that’s awesome!

wow! i hope your mom is happy. 🙂 did they want to adopt me?

June 20, 2008

omg!! that story doesnt even sound real. Its more like you are reading out of a john grisham novel or something. way to go mom!

June 20, 2008

seeing more of your mom IS a payout! : ) how fun to fall head over heels with someone who is dirty, stinking rich! this story gives me hope. haha

June 20, 2008
June 20, 2008

OMG! Freakin’ awesome! I wish something like that would happen to my mom! Give her a BIG congrats hug for me 🙂

June 20, 2008

Holy crap! Why can’t my family in northern GA be that lucky? lol

June 22, 2008

holy shit. is this guy normal? why was he having such a hard tome finding someone? is mom normal?!

June 25, 2008

OMG….talk about a fairy tale coming true….way to go mom!

February 1, 2009

that is crazy!