Two in the Pink

I’ve had quite an unentertaining weekend.  Let’s recap, shall we?

Friday night, I met with artist boy at a little dive called the Yukon Tavern.  As I mentioned before, he and I have been chatting on MySpace since I moved here.  He contacted me simply because I listed art as an interest on my page.  He has some really outstanding work, and he does several shows in the area.  He knew I was attached from the beginning, and he never so much as made an inappropriate comment.  In fact, it wasn’t until he invited me and "my boyfriend" to Noc Moc, a local art show, next weekend, that he learned that I’m newly single.  Even since, he hasn’t so much as tried to hit on me.  Thank god.

He had sent me a picture a couple of days prior to our meeting.  He only has photos of his artwork on MySpace, and I needed to know who I was looking for when I arrived at the bar.  I knew immediately that there was no attraction whatsoever, but I was not prepared to meet a cowboy boot wearing redneck.  Not to mention, the tavern itself was quite possibly the most horrid place I’d ever spent two hours of my life.  Don’t get me wrong.  I really enjoyed whooping some ass in about twenty games of pool (I only lost one), but I felt like I needed a shower when I returned home.  Greasy, down-home, southern cooking; a jukebox blaring Brooks & Dunn; and about half the crowd was missing a few teeth.  I felt like I was right back home in Arkansas again.

He and a couple of his friends were on their way to a comedy show.  They had some extra tickets and invited me to tag along, but I gracefully declined.  I, instead, headed downtown to 15C, the fantastic martini bar that my coworkers treated me to for my birthday.  The place was packed.  I ordered a drink from the bar, and I ended up standing there for about half an hour hoping that a seat might come available.  One didn’t.  Since I couldn’t even maneuver my way around to the single guys sitting on the other end, I called it a night.  Besides, I was wearing those new, patent red stilettos, and they might just be the most uncomfortable shoes I have ever purchased.  I finished off a smoke, paid for my $12 martini, and headed home.

It was early, so I changed into pajamas and spent the remainer of the night watching cartoons.  I think I finally got in the bed around 4am.  Saturday was spent entertaining myself with the Xbox.  With the exception of a two hour break to grill some burgers and eat, I played video games from the time I woke up until the time I went to bed.  Productive, no?  I’ve occupied most of today grocery shopping, cooking, cleaning my apartment, and chatting up friends.  Sometimes, my life is so exciting.  Sometimes, it’s so… not.

In other news, I did get a final answer on the trip to Iraq.  I will be leaving mid-April.  Though I’ll still have bills to account for here, I won’t have to pay for food, lodging, or medical in Iraq.  Also, I obviously won’t be putting gas in my car.  I’m going to be in fantastic shape financially when I return.  I can’t even begin to describe how that feels.  I’ve reread some of my entries from just a year and half ago, and I wonder sometimes how I even survived.  When David left for Pennsylvania, I was flat broke.  My brother paid for me to move to Georgia, calling it my graduation gift.  I never even paid the last month’s rent on the house I was living in.  I just left.  I already make well enough money now to live comfortably with a little left over.  However, I pay more for revolving credit right now than I do for my car each month.  The thought of paying off my damn credit cards leaves me ecstatic.  Needless to say, I’ll be house hunting when I return.

Several people have asked what exactly I’ll be doing overseas.  Basically, my company’s software is being used in battle zone.  I’ll be supporting and upgrading the product and training users.  I’ll also be doing much of the same as I do here, which is additional development.  Our product has many uses, but most importantly, it’s saved many lives.  I feel fortunate to be a part of that.  I’ll be helping to save lives.

I’ll leave you with this funny little tidbit.  My mom called earlier to chat about nothing important — my brother’s birthday, my grandmother’s reaction to me leaving for Iraq, a recipe she’d like me to send.  We were talking about a recent Slayer concert that my brother attended.  Upon recapping the night for her, he forgot to mention the part about getting punched by an angry mosher, returning said angry mosher’s punch, and getting thrown out of the club.  Keep in mind that my brother is not exactly someone that you would look at and think, "He’s a hardcore metal fan!"  He’s a 32-year-old, business suit-clad software engineer/manager, and he has never, as far as I know, been in a fight in his life.

Anyway, I spilled the beans on the real reason Rob was sore from the night, and she retorted that there’s something else she has been wondering about.  She’s recently downloaded various pictures from both Rob’s and my websites, and there are several photos in which he and I are both "throwing some sort of hand sign."  Apparently, she had asked Rob what it meant, but he refused an answer.  He told her to call me.  Gee, thanks.  I giggled because without even asking, I knew exactly what she talking about.  I asked her to describe it anyway, because there was no point in embarrassing both of us unnecessarily.  Of course, she described "The Shocker".

"Okay, mom.  Let me just put it this way.  It’s sexually obscene.  Does that help you figure it out?"

She still didn’t get it.

After a long sigh, "Alright, I’m only going to say this once.  Listen well, and if you can’t figure it out after this, then I can’t help you.  Two in the pink.  One in the stink."

I don’t think I’ve ever heard my mom laugh as long and as hard as she did this evening.  I literally sat there and listened to her incessant laughter for fifteen minutes.  In fact, she eventually just had to get off the phone.  She couldn’t even finish our conversation.  Good times.

Cheers,
Felina

Log in to write a note
March 4, 2007

i found you on the front page and was curious to find out how your date went with the ‘artist guy’ then you mentioned your red high heels and i just bought some! i’ve been practicing walking around the house in them and i almost fall over everytime! you definitely need a man around to help prop you up LOL

March 4, 2007

LOL

March 4, 2007

*random* That is too funny! Sounds like a nice and relaxing weekend overall! Can’t beat that sometimes! btw, I live in Colorado too (Fort Collins). I’m gonna add you to my faves if you don’t mind!

March 5, 2007

a nice relaxing weekend is sometimes needed, besides most of the time…your life is far from boring. LOL

You’re leaving?? But who’s going to arouse me at 7am with entries titled two in the pink? Sigh. Hope all goes well for you… I’m sure it will.

March 5, 2007
March 5, 2007

I had to explain to my mom what “camel toe” meant, I hear ya.

March 5, 2007

Leave it to your mom to not know what that meant…you gotta love her! Why does Rob always leave the dirty work up to you?!

March 5, 2007

Oh….that was a good one!!!

March 5, 2007

glad you give your momma a chuckle. i’ve never had to explain something like to my momma, and for that i’m thankful.

Nothing like taking a little of your mom’s innocence. I couldn’t even begin trying to explain the shocker to my mom. She’d flip. And Slayer is still around??? WTF????

March 5, 2007

That’s some funny Sh1t! My mom would have still not got it! HAHA Good times……… Hmmm yeah my space dating, interesting idea, I just got on my space but havenÂ’t tied to pick any one up. Not that I wont try just haven’t yet:)

March 5, 2007

WOw that is to funny.. Glad you are doing alright.. Sorry the date stinked..

March 5, 2007

So you have myspaced before? Hummmm sex? Ok you sold me I’m going to try! B-day was interesting more like a race I had to run. I’m going to post an entry soon.

Gotta love The Shocker!!! haha 🙂

March 5, 2007

wow that’s funny! haha…I think my mom would die too! That’s amazing what you’ll be doing in Iraq…scary but it’s awesome

March 5, 2007

That’s funny as hell. =)

March 6, 2007

I know, right? I laughed my ass off reading this entry. Shit! I went to your myspace, too. Does that make me a stalker? = Perhaps.

I couldn’t have asked for a better environment. Coming from the hellhole that the paper turned into, this place is the complete opposite. Lots of time for me to…well, hop around online and leave people notes! 🙂

March 7, 2007

My mom would’ve had a heartattack if I explained the shocker to her. lol

March 7, 2007

LOVE the new background…her I have a question…the entry that you have where you dyed your hair kinda “punk” what exactly did you do to get those colors, I love them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

March 7, 2007

Hola….the one titled “I Got My Hair Did! (PICS)” in Feb 06…..

March 7, 2007

I love how your brain works. I want to lick your brain because I’m betting it is chockfull of vitamins from you using it.

March 7, 2007

*ROFL!!!* OMG!

March 7, 2007

haha that’s absolutely great… congrats too on the job

March 8, 2007

Damn photobucket! I want ZOTO back!

March 8, 2007

I know what you mean about feeling relieved to be out of debt….do you need an assistant in Iraq…to pay me enough money to get me out of debt??? :.) I am struggling and its very hard but I’ll make it one way or another. Your mother’s reaction…priceless, huh? :.)