Nord’s Thoughts #3

I actually like this place. I feel welcomed and safe. A bit strange, as older people use the platform and I’m here being in my “single digit” ages, but it’s nice.

I’m also not stupid so I’ll know how to keep myself safe from creeps on here. I appreciate any and all comments, thank you.

Ah, something else I wanted to talk about briefly is how I’m meeting a friend of mine from the Internet. Don’t worry, we’ve voice called before so I know she’s a real person. She’s coming here in a week or two, and I’m nervous but also excited. I hope she doesn’t think I’m weird. Something else is that, I think I have symptoms of selective mutism, or something like that. It’s hard to explain and I know this sounds disrespectful of me to people who actually need it, but I’m thinking of speaking sign language to see how that works out. I have a hard time using verbal communication.

Log in to write a note
August 2, 2020

I had a year where my stress was so bad (6th grade) that I developed selective mutism for a while. I was unable to speak above a bare whisper when out of the house. At home, if it was just family, I was fine but at school or anywhere else, I spoke so softly that I could not be heard. My teacher mocked me in front of the class and sent me to a speech therapist. Didn’t fix me but the therapist sent me with the message “There is nothing wrong with her”. Just do what you are comfortable with.

August 15, 2020

@snarkle Sorry for the late reply, but thank you so much!