Well… I suppose…

I had been meaning to write an entry over at my prose box account but I guess here will do just as well. Why? Well atleast here i feel like I may get a reply or two. I think that’s whats made it so hard to write an entry. I want… feedback sounds like an odd thing. But while I Know we write these diarys for our own mind at the same time it is nice to know that someone is reading it… that sound weird. Anyhow…

 

What has it been like 5 years? haha Much has happened obviously since my last entry… **hits pause button and reads last few entries** umm yea  a LOT. SO firstly if you do go back and read let me say. Yes Steve and I are still together. No he does drink like that any more. He does get a little carried away sometimes and we still do fight about it a little but nothing NOTHING like then.

 

So what has happened. We where renting a house and about oh i think late June last year the land lord knocked on the door and said “I’m putting this house up for sale.” basically the next day there was a for sale sign in the front of the house where I had lived for 4 years. I had no want to buy that house because it was small (700sq feet) and had septic issues and well issues. So we went to the bank found out how much we could get a loan for and started the hunt. We got a real estate agent named Valorie and so started our 5 month hunt. Valorie was GREAT however and I’m so glad she was our agent. The lady we had the previous time we house hunted was nice enough but she made me feel rushed. Valorie just understood that if it wasnt the house for you it simply wasn’t. She never gave me the ‘you’ve seen enough now decide’ like the other lady did. BLEH… Anyhow first we looked at a house down the road from my partents and nearly across from my friend. We where all set to put in an offer only to find out that they had accepted an offer the night before. That house actually went back on the market later… but with much less land. Next we found a house that was really nice it was summer time great time for moving. Our offer was excepted……. and then the dude couldnt get the permits to build his new house… so that deal fell through… Then we went and seen another house we liked and put in an offer and where told that they wouldn’t even counter ofer because they where so offended. Actually the agent wouldnt even show our offer to the seller… which was funny because it was people that knew my family…….. but yea that didnt happen. Then we found another house that we liked 4 acres nearish my parents and brother. We went to do inspection and found mold in the entire attic and a HUGE leak under the house that was from the kitchen sink and what not and stank to high heaven you know in case the mold wasn’t a big enough issue…….. so we passed that was october because it was right before halloween. I was really getting weary of house hunting by this time… and we had a healthy budget. But house prices go up in the summer and where reluctant to come down much.. So we looked more and more and more I think it was the end of November if not the begining of December and we where out looking (thankfully the house we where renting hadn’t sold in all this time because the land lord had a SHITTY ASS realtor) I decided to look at a house that I had thought 100% was going to be in a cruddy area that I didn’t want to be in. I walked in the door and the house spoke to me in the ‘you could be comfortable here’ way. This house was very nicely under budget. Just needed a few things fixed up and would feel wonderful. A small basement for the washer and drier and a little storage. A bonus room which was originally a garage or parking area… Just over half an acre a garage and a small shed. Came with all appliances (which i needed since i didnt own any of the ones where I was renting) . We put in an offer that night above asking price because I wanted them to pay closing costs so then with the loan type i had I didnt need to put anything down. And they accepted. We where able to get possession right before Christmas and where officially moved before the first of the year. So far I am loving it. Even though I’ve had to figure out how to fix the leaking basement.. but I think that’s just because part of this house is so old and it was an old person who was here. The road my driveway is on is a dead end dirt road but my house address is on a busier road. However the speed limit is only 45 so it’s not bad and while it’s busy it’s not stupidly so except the normal going to and coming from work times. Things have been very calm for the most part since then.

In other things that have changed. I don’t work at pottery barn anymore. I did 2 jobs for I think almost 2 years. I had cut down on my days there but a over 40 hour work week was killing me. I did switch area’s at Meijer however. After I just couldn’t take my horriable boss any longer I started looking to switch departments. When going to work was making me feel physically ill because I knew I was going to be screamed at EVERY day by my boss no matter how good or bad of a job I did I just couldnt take it anymore. I was originally thinking of going to fashions but right as I asked there was a hiring freeze put on and no one could transfer anywhere because of it. They where closing a store and the employees from that store would be picking other stores to go to. But in the end I am glad they did. I was loaned out to produce to help during this time and found that I actually really enjoyed it. I was helping stock in the mornings and get things set for 2nd shift to come in. I then happened to look at the boss over there who is a really nice guy and asked him if he was going to need any more people in his area. He said yes and I was eventually able to transfer areas. About a year after being over there a sign was hung that there where going to be full time positions and it didn’t really specify where so I signed up for an interview and figured no matter what I could always say no. Turns out the position was for my area! which was great I had told my boss many times that if full time came up I wanted it! I had to switch to 2nd shift which I honestly don’t mind took a bit of getting use to after having to be to work at 5 or 6 am for like 7 years. So this year will be 10 that I’ve been with the company and I’m full time don’t usually have stressful days and am paid a good wage for what I do.

Steve is now working security actually he has been for about the last 5 years ever since he left Meijer. He has bounced companies quite a bit but I think he’s landed a good one now. He is paid good is unarmed not getting shot at, which he was getting paid a lot less to do, and getting 40+ hours.

So things are good for us expect updates of things i’m fixing in the house if the cold weather and snow ever finish going away haha. First of which is going to be a fence for my dogs (I have 2 now) and then when my niece comes over I wont have to worry as much about her either.

OH I have a niece now!! She’s the only one on my side of the family and I think it’s going to stay that way. Steve and I have decided that while it’s not that we don’t want kids we are okay with our dogs. BUT if something happened an we had a kid it would be okay, but we aren’t planning on really trying at the same time. Every now and then I think that maybe I may be missing out….. but really I like it just being Steve the dogs and I. I have my niece (her name is Lily) and I’m good with that. I have a feeling I’m a better Aunt then I would be mom. Well maybe that’s not exactly true. But there are just enough years between my brothers and I that I remember helping them with diapers and potty training that I don’t feel I HAVE to have kids.

I think that’s it for updates… not sure if I really even still have ‘friends’ on here anymore that would wonder what has went on… but I guess if you just start reading this is my life for now. Oh and I did do that name change! I am fork-n-spoons no more back to Sojourn because well I like that name.

 

until later

-Sojourn

Log in to write a note