02/03/2014

There’s a need to put some fingers to keys to sum up this site shutting down relative to my perspective.

I’ve only written on this site since January 2011. I was able to go through copying, pasting into word to save my journal. I tried the downloading functions, but that didn’t meet my expectations. The day after the shutting down would occur within a couple of weeks was tough for getting that process started as you may have experienced as well. After a frenzy it’s all saved. I have to go through and throw out what isn’t worth keeping.

Despite the misfortune of this site closing, at least there is warning. I don’t assume that anyone looks at the left sidebar, but I spent a good portion of my life writing on In The Wire (ITW) aka Diary Monster. That site just mysterious went down and never came back somewhere around October 2006. I had a lot of entries from my formative teenage and very early adulthood that I wasn’t able to save. All of that time is just a memory or scattered in paper journals. I had a journal I kept at home. I had a journal that I kept in my car (which I practically lived out of to avoid being home). I don’t like paper that much. Typing is much easier than hand-writing thoughts. Typing is much faster. Those paper journals lack input and some of those comments/notes helped alter my perspective and think with a more level head especially at a time of my life where anger fueled just about everything I did.

In any case, I’m going to move onto Prosebox as a lot of my acquaintances here have done. I was super busy in the run up to Christmas and couldn’t get to this site regularly. I was trying to find a balance of writing publically and privately. I would contemplate my reason for writing periodically and I look at this event as an opportunity to do so. I have time to write this time of year and I am looking for a new job which would also give me opportunities to write more often.

Life is ruled by irony; change is the only constant? It’s sad to see people having to let go of a fixture in their lives. Change is inevitable though. I wish everyone the best of luck and happiness and I may see some of you as Arbutus Dunbar.

Log in to write a note