The End and the Beginning

There’s a need to put some fingers to keys to sum up this site shutting down relative to my perspective.

I’ve only written on this site since January 2011. I was able to go through copying, pasting into word to save my journal. I tried the downloading functions, but that didn’t meet my expectations. The day after the end of Open Diary was announced was tough for getting that process started as you may have experienced as well. After a frenzy it’s all saved. I have to go through and throw out what isn’t worth keeping.

Despite the misfortune of this site closing, at least there is warning. I don’t assume that anyone looks at the left sidebar, but I spent a good portion of my life writing on In The Wire (ITW) aka Diary Monster. That site just mysterious went down and never came back somewhere around October 2006. I had a lot of entries from my formative teenage and very early adulthood that I wasn’t able to save. All of that time is just a memory or scattered in paper journals. I had a journal I kept at home. I had a journal that I kept in my car (which I practically lived out of to avoid being home). I don’t like paper that much. Typing is much easier than hand-writing thoughts. Typing is much faster. Those paper journals lack input and some of those comments/notes helped alter my perspective and think with a more level head especially at a time of my life where anger fueled just about everything I did.

In any case, I’m going to move onto Prosebox as a lot of my acquaintances here have done. I was super busy in the run up to Christmas and couldn’t get to this site regularly. I was trying to find a balance of writing publically and privately. I would contemplate my reason for writing periodically and I look at this event as an opportunity to do so. I have time to write this time of year and I am looking for a new job which would also give me opportunities to write more often.

Life is ruled by irony; change is the only constant? It’s sad to see people having to let go of a fixture in their lives. Change is inevitable though. I wish everyone the best of luck and happiness and I may see some of you as Korpz Phieding.

Log in to write a note
February 3, 2014

So glad you are going to make the move! My name is the same over there, add me!