Mutterings from a dusty lot

All saved favorites and icons are gone on the work computer, vanished into the ether, but the expert left me Explorer. I can still get here. Ah ha!!! Which is similar to Eureka. Which is very similar to salavation at times.

I definately have the beginnings of a sinus infection. No one around me has time for that, especially this holiday season. My kind dentist has prescribed an antibiotic….one of those nasty ones, and G’s bringing it up. I think I smoked too much in my nervousness at being “the” test subject yesterday. Perhaps that and too much dust won the day. I have two days outta here. Dr. Luke will scrape my marginal tooth tomorrow, antibiotics will save the holiday, and anything else serious will have to wait until the next year.

Which includes G. He has given in and agreed to be officially placed on light duty. Results from the MRI came back, and he has a bulging disc. Gee, that therapist shouldn’t have pushed so hard, don’t you think.

Airplanes: One took off to the side of me the other day, and it’s engine quit. I was out in the yard doing an inventory of the body shop vee-hickles, when the motor shut off. I must say that’s one of the scarriest kinds of silence I have ever heard. Lenora ran to the door of the trailer, and the two of us stood with our eyes on the heavens. Lenora kept gesturing and yelling to it to, “start, start!”

The pilot turned the plane abruptly and pointed it toward the ground in our direction. Perhaps the added airspeed helped. The engine started again. Usually when they get them started, the planes circle around to land the right way. This one didn’t. It continued our way in a see-sawing manner while Lenora yelled and I wondered which way to dive. I actually danced a bit on my feet to see if I could move myself out of his way….I couldn’t.

Jigging and jagging through the skis, the plane eventually vanished behind a building. Since there was no resultant ball of flame and all we could hear was silence, we knew it had landed. The world begin again.

Log in to write a note
gel
December 19, 2003

Oh how frightening! I would have been yelling at it too. Sorry to hear about the sinus infection-you know you have my sympathy! Hope the antibiotics kick it in the rear really fast! xoxo

December 19, 2003

Eeek. A few times. With a bear hug.

If this had happened to me, I would have to go home and change my underwear. Wow. I’m glad everyone is all right. Love to you and G,

Holy sh*t! That would have scared the beejezus out of me! I have a nurse practioner friend who told me the other day that the average sinus infection lasts 16 years. We think we are rid of it, but it really is only down to a manageable stage. Upper tooth pain is a good sign of it flaring up. Hope you and G take care of yourselves.

Mns
December 19, 2003

phew. i bet the pilot was breathing a sigh of relief! how scary. i can remember the PSA crash in San Diego and the big plume of dark smoke we could see from our livingroom window. take care of yourself, it’s not a fun season to be sick.

ohhhh my..sorry to hear about that MRI…..

December 19, 2003

Oh my goodness, Georgette. Your life is jam packed with excitment. Wishing you safe, happy, calm moments. Strong hug, Sweetie. Love,

ahh two days off. wonderful!

December 19, 2003

Lindberg’s record first flight across the ocean was with a one-engine plane, the Spirit of St Louis. Coming back from Paris, an engine failed almost half way across the Atlantic, but it was closer to go back to Paris. There’s good reason to have two or more engines!

Do you remember when that plane landed in the Gemco parking lot on Balboa??? Whew! DH & I used to live under the landing path of Lindberg… talk about scary… they took off our t.v. antenna one day and we began looking for a new place to live. Too close for comfort. Tehachap

December 21, 2003

What terror! I used to dream, as a child, of dying when a plane fell on me. Sorry about the sinus infection.

December 24, 2003

WOW! There should be a law…………..!