RAT RODS

 

A Rat Rod is an old vehicle recreated into a artistic pile of machinery.

The run of the Rat Rods at the Automotive Museum is almost over.  George is enthusiastic when a show first starts.  After a few months he’s burned out.  He’s reached that stage with the Rat Rods.  The museum still hasn’t found a replacement for Poolie, but the volunteers plug on with minimal supervision.

I heard a bit about her before I got there, and I even got a chance to read her Linkedin page.  I wasn’t ready for her constant talk about all the boards she is on or her many questions about what I do.  I gather from the staff gossip that she was upset about the Facebook page…then was told I did it.  Later she was upset that the books were so messy.  Of course they are if I haven’t been there a week.  Then she was told I was the one who did the books.  Later she was upset that so many customers stayed in back shopping the bookshelves.

I just did my job with the books then moved on to sorting clothes.  Gossip again tells me that she has alienated most of the Monday and Tuesday staffing.  When I mentioned all this to G, he commented that perhaps she was afraid.  I’ve been through a lot of managers here, and this sounds about right.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

  • 0910: Marked my ballot and got it ready to mail. Heavy on the dems and fiscal conservatives.
  • 1030: Hair cut at: It’s so long it resembles that of a mad woman.  Maybe I am a mad woman.
  • 1230: Discovered the front tires are out of camber on the truck.  Made an appointment for new front tires, replacing the spare with the better of the two fronts.
  • Have a new Anne Perry to take with me to read.
Log in to write a note
May 17, 2018

thanks  for  adding  me and  nice  photo

May 20, 2018

Thank you.  I always try to have an interesting photo in each entry.

May 17, 2018

I’m confused. Is the fearful manager Poolie? Or a new one? Segue from museum to thrift store?

May 20, 2018

The fearful manager is my new manager at the shop.  Poolie was G’s old manager at the Automuseum and is much missed.

May 19, 2018

smiles p

May 20, 2018

Back at ya.