A HAPPY NIGHT TURNED SOUR

LAST NIGHT I WENT TO MY NEPHEWS HOUSE FOR SUPPER. HE IS MY FAVOURITE. HOWEVER THINGS TURNED SOUR WHEN HE STARTED IN ON ME AND MY FINANCES. I WILL NOT SAY THAT HE IS WRONG! IT’S JUST THAT HE HAS SUCH A LOUD VOICE. HE IS CONVINCED THAT I AM NOT HANDLING MY FINANCES INCORRECTLY. I AM ADMITTING THAT I DON‘T KNOW MUCH BUT IT REALLY SPOILED THE EVENING FOR ME. HE ENCOURAGES ME STRONGLY TO GET MY CHILDREN INVOLVED.

OVER THE YEARS I HAVE BEEN TAUGHT NOT TO MIX FINANCES AND FAMILY. I AM ALMOST CONVINCED THAT MAYBE I SHOULD GIVE OVER MY FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITIES TO THEM. IT WOULD BE SO MUCH EASIER. I DON’T KNOW WHAT I AM GOING TO DO.

 

Log in to write a note
May 16, 2018

One of the biggest wedges between my sister and me is that she feels everything in my life is open season for her judgement. There should be rules written down somewhere, “Thou shalt leave thy sisters business to thy sister unless otherwise requested.” or something like that. Goes for aunts and nephews too.

May 16, 2018

It was quite rude of him to ambush you at a nice dinner with that topic. If he really wants to talk about it, he needs to set aside a separate time to go over things with you and NOT bully you into his way of thinking. Have you asked any of your children what they think, and if they would be willing to mediate between you and the nephew? He is not playing nice. Your money is your money; while it is yours, you have every right to do with it what you will, even if it means he never gets any of it. Unless you’re putting your own life and health in imminent danger, he should not be interfering.

kat
May 16, 2018

how does he know what your finances are? My kids have no clue about our investments or savings.  and if you aren’t borrowing money from him and your bills are getting paid it probably should not matter to him just my opinion

May 16, 2018

@kaliko agreed!

May 16, 2018

Don’t. Find a not for profit advisor out side of the family. Tell your family mind their own business.