WHAT DO YOU THINK?

I spoke to one of my friends yesterday. She is in Florida. Apparently I hadn’t told her that I sold my condo so she was upset. Then she continues to ask millions of questions about what I am going to do with everything in the condo. I told her I’m not sure yet. She mentioned that she gave me a set of salt and pepper shakers for my collection a few years ago. She said if I wasn’t taking them then she would. I couldn’t believe it. To me they are MINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Why would she think because she bought them for me now she could take them!!!! Then she started to say that maybe she could go into the condo with her sister and her brother-in-law to see what they might want!!  I’m not sure how to handle this. The vultures have come out!~~~~~~~~~ She always emphasizes what she hs done for me. If she gives me someone’s phone number etc. I don’t think I owe her anything and I don’t want her going into my condo and helping herself. How do I handle this?

Log in to write a note
December 31, 2019

I don’t have any good advice. The best thing to do is be blunt, in my opinion. She has no right to go through your stuff and just pick out what she wants. Tell her you want to keep the salt and pepper shakers (even if you don’t know that for sure) and tell her she cannot go through your stuff. It’s not hers to decide what to do with. I assume she has keys or a way to get in. To me, if it’s possible (I don’t know since you’ve sold it), I would change the locks so she can’t get in.

December 31, 2019

She sounds quite pushy!  I would tell her that I’ve run into a financial shortfall and consequently I am looking into selling everything, maybe an auction.  When you decide if it’s an auction, say that you’ll definitely let her know the date so she can attend the preview and bid on anything she wants.

December 31, 2019

I would be just leaving her wondering what you are going to do…Don’t say a word to her.

January 3, 2020

It is your choice of what you want to do. NO one has a right to ask for something they gave you back! IF someone said that to me, I would tell them I am sorry but that is MINE and I like to pass it down to someone who is special to me!
OR just tell her NOTHING of whats going on.
I am sorry you have to deal with this.
HUGS