I’ve seen enough dead birds

I am having a pretty good day, despite the apparent hole in my air mattress that caused me to wake up with my butt on the floor and my head and legs in the air. I thought, ‘Well, if those people in the electric bed commercials  think this is comfortable, I should be able to sleep this way’. You know those commercials? Anyway. It didn’t work, probably because I was thinking about how uncomfortable I must have looked from an outsider’s perspective (though I hope people don’t watch me while I sleep).

It probably also didn’t work because Marcy decided that she wanted to play at 4 a.m., and scratched horizontal lines right below my wrist. She also kicked me a lot, because kicking her legs out and swatting at things out-of-time (with her mouth wide open the whole time) is her idea of playing.

There are two exciting things happening at the park today. One, there’s a home school class where young children are going to learn about animal homes. This is exciting because some volunteer lady made snacks that look like bird nests (they are cookies I guess) with chocolate eggs, and there will likely be extra. Two: A large, taxidermied turkey was donated to us, and today some staff people are going to affix it to the wall, about twelve feet up. This is exciting because it will be a spectacle watching them put it up there, and it seems a little absurd for people to walk in and  have a turkey hovering over them, looking pretentious and condescending in all of its poofed-out glory.

I’m heading to the co-op after my shift at the park today. I am working with people that I really like, who share my disdain for creepers and weirdos. I got a raise there, so I officially make more per hour there than I do at the parks. Still, I’m grateful to have two jobs that I actually enjoy, and to work with people that I consider my friends.

My job at the co-op has given me opportunities to get health products (cleanses, supplements, etc.) either free or at extremely discounted prices. I don’t know if anyone is into that stuff, but you should let me know if you are and want to mooch off of me.

Well, not much else to say right now. I ate a piece of cake and now my stomach hurts. Tragedy!

Log in to write a note
March 18, 2010

When Lance was living up here he had an air mattress and we would sometimes wake up in odd positions because of weirdly-placed leaks. It’s amusing, but also annoying. Birds nest candies! How cute! And I love the idea of a pretentious turkey on the wall. There’s just something so poetic about that.

March 18, 2010

I bet today was an awesome time at the park since the weather is nice. When I have time, I’ll stop by to see you. 🙂 I’m glad that you like where you work and enjoy the people.

March 18, 2010

This is a good entry and I enjoyed reading it.

April 2, 2010

I’m glad that me, you, and Doddy conversed tonight. You are a good lady. 🙂