No, Life is Actually a Highway

So.

A lovely bald eagle couple has apparently decided that a location not far from one of my workplaces is an ideal location to raise their young. I checked out the nest today (from a respectful distance, of course), but could only see an adult eagle sitting and looking around and stuff. At one point I saw the eagle’s butt waggling in the air. Pervert! I can’t imagine the madhouse that quiet area will become once the local news stations get word of this nest. Nothing quite aids in the development of baby eagles like screaming children and minivans.

An older gentleman with an unnaturally shaped mustache (you had to be there, I guess) came into the park today and gave me a box of unsharpened pencils. He said something that really didn’t make sense, and then wanted me to hold a pencil sharpener while he sharpened one of the pencils. Looking back, the whole situation can be interpreted rather cryptically. With the right music it might be something David Lynch could use.

I have been working in the Wellness Department at the Co-op (I am a homeopathic pill pusher and flower essence guzzler), and am learning a lot about medical conditions. I’m also learning a lot about the willingness of individuals to describe their medical conditions in detail. Erectile dysfunction (‘I just need something to, you know, make it work better’), explosive bowel movements (‘They lifted me off ot the toilet and my shit splattered on the wall’), nothing is off the table.

The hot topic of the week is Daylight Savings Time. I do not care about this.

I know that I live in a civilized society because I have a friend that gives me chocolate when he sees me. I give him chocolate when I see him, also. We are not opposed to sharing other kinds of snacks. I gave him gummy bears on his birthday that he could decapitate as he pleased. He did this to the gummy bears and it was okay.

My cat hasn’t been feeling well and has been sleeping with me at night. For the first few nights she woke me up around 4 a.m. because she wanted to play. The night before last she decided to lie next to me, awake, and look around at stuff quietly instead of waking me. She did this last night also, and I think she has realized that it’s a pretty polite thing to do.

I’ve had a hard time listening to what people have to say lately. This doesn’t refer to people I care about, of course, but refers more to the public in general. I have jobs where I work with the public a lot and I’m usually cool with it, but my patience has been strained a lot. The universe must be sending me cranky vibes, and it’s one of those special times where I’m cranky and find it funny/silly that I’m cranky. It all evens out I guess. People are just so… dumb sometimes. And weird.

I am trying to become more aware of the energy around me. I’m also trying to do what I need to in order to feel balanced and happy, and this, paired with my work schedule, is making me more hermit-ish than usual. I apologize for this. I don’t harbor any negative feelings toward anyone, and will be open to more situations once I feel more balanced and at peace with myself. Things are generally going well, my disposition is generally positive day to day (at least in my interactions with others), and I see many positive things in my surroundings. However, I am prone to bouts of melancholy and often brood, and am trying to reconcile all of this. It’s a process that might not make much sense, but that’s the way it is.

I guess life is a journey, and blah blah blah.

Log in to write a note
March 15, 2010

people are really dumb sometimes. A lot of the time, actually. I don’t think I could handle a job where I had to listen to the general public.