Some new babies

Woo, it’s been a long time since I’ve updated. Like always.

I guess things have been kindof eventful. Yesterday Tom and I travelled to Auburn for my nephew’s first birthday party, where my mom had made the cutest ol’ pirate cake I’ve ever seen. Fruit roll-ups were the stripes for the piratey shirt! It was awesome. What else… well, I drank a kombucha today and some accidentally spilled in my bag. Thanks to the fact that it’s a bit fermented it has a pretty distinctive smell (which was only made more distinctive by the fact that this kombucha also had ginger), so it smells like I marinated my bag in some booze-ish substance before heading out for the day. Classy! And if you know me you know that this bag will probably never get washed.

Did I mention on here that I thought Jan (the sick kitty) was pregnant? Well, that’s official. Actually, last Sunday around 6 a.m. I woke up to a very polite "mew" coming from Jan. She did it again a few minutes later, and I figured something was weird because she’d never just meowed at us while we were sleeping before. I got up and noticed pretty quickly that she was having contractions. I had known that she was pregnant for a few weeks so I had already made her a birthing box with towels and stuff inside, so I went with Jan into the closet where her box was. She started contracting more frequently and after a little while something came out. It just kindof looked like a red blob. Yeah, I’m not a doctor, but it didn’t look like a regular baby kitty. So, as is her style, she started eating/cleaning whatever it was. Once she started eating it I realized there was a very small kitten inside, and it had underdeveloped and had clearly died in the womb some time beforehand. It had tiny little claws and all of it’s essential parts, but no fur and wasn’t born alive. Jan still went to the trouble of cleaning it though, and Tom had the not-so-pleasurable pleasure of disposing of it.

She was still having contractions after the first kitten and I was pretty worried that any other kittens delivered would also be stillborn. She hadn’t had much trouble delivering the first kitten, and I noticed that her contractions were now definitely larger. To make a long story only kindof long: She ended up delivering 2 more kittens, both gray and both still alive a week later. Yay! one of the kittens is actually just starting to open up its little eyeballs and Jan hasn’t been super mean or defensive when we try to pet them. She’s a cool mom and Nathan has only hissed at the kittens once. Still not cool, I know, and I’m worried that he’s going to kill them so we’ve kept them separated. Now we just have to figure out what we’ll do with the little guys once they’re ready to leave the proverbial nest/literal birthing box.

Work has been work. I like it, but there isn’t really anything to say about it.

I’ve been surfing the web (as the kids say) a lot lately, and found a website called yearbookyourself.com that made me laugh for a long time. You basically upload a picture and then it, by magic, plasters your face on some old timey (okay, 1950’s-2000) photos.

Here are some of mine:

 

And because I’m rather dorkish I also did some for the cats. Bleh, crazy cat lady here I come.

 

Okay, I would really like to applaud you if you made it through all of that. Tomtom’s at work tonight so I’m just making a gourmet wrapped-in-plastic pizza in the oven. Yes, I remembered to remove the plastic. I have to work in the morning and that’s basically all the excitement I can afford.

Log in to write a note
August 2, 2009

The one with the bow in your hair you can totally pull that off. Yay for new kitties.

August 3, 2009

the second and fourth one are your best!! 🙂 good times.

August 7, 2009

LOL those are great! I’m going to have to try that one out 🙂

August 10, 2009

Ahhh! The 3rd one down reminds me of my mom when she was younger. That’s really weird!