Where Will You Be When You’re Not Here This Time Last Year

[this was written in August, 2021]

 

Grief is heavy Funny how I can’t put down something I never wanted

 

Maybe I need the pain

 

We must embrace pain and use it as fuel for our journey. — Kenji Miyazawa

 

  didn’t survive the loss of Woody

 

I remain after he gone

 

I’m still screaming “NOOOOO!” 

 

It’s been 430 days and my insides are inconsolable

 

Death ends a life, not a relationship. — Amy Greene

 

I’m pretty sure that griet is something ll never get on the other side of

 

I believe it’s now part of my journey A road am always walong, but not a destination I reach

 

Man cannot remake himself without suffering, for he is both the marble and the sculptor. — Alexis Carrel

 

Woody loved me for the rest of his life. I am going to honor hien quietly and out loud for the rest of mine

 

Im not trying to make a saint of him because he died

 

So much happens in 20+ years

 

We endured a lot together We endured each other

 

We tried giving up more than once

 

We overcame obstacles we never ever thought we’d go through, only to allow some other hardship to trip us up

 

Our love took work, and I didnt always want to be on the clock

 

Neither did he

 

Woody loved me, though

 

And so, he stayed

 

I loved him no matter what

 

And so, stayed How precious for me to have loved him until death did part us

 

I’m still struggling

 

It’s like I keep wrapping the torment around me like a blanket, and I’ve been curled up in it for all this time

 

Enlightenment was Woodys thing

 

I’m not sure how proud he’s been of me this past year

 

I was dreading the cne-year anniversary was terrified to lose hen all over again

 

It came on August 27th

 

Up until that point, I had memories with him there, even though they began

 

with “This time last year” 

 

After August 27th, this time last year was no more

 

Woody wasn’t there.

 

I’ve been fighting so hard with letting him go that I haven’t laughed and smiled about him much

 

It’s like I want to stay sad because smiling about him would be a betrayal

We had so many “know what mean? across the room looks for when we needed or wanted to communicate without speaking out loud

 

He knew me I knew him

 

He should be celebrated, and I know that

 

The stupidest and goofiest things pap in my head and just burst with laughter

 

The laughter morphs into uncontrollable bawling You, Ike a scene from a movie about a bat ahit crazy woman

 

I think to myself, “how can you laugh

 

These memories have sharp edges now

 

It’s not funny!

 

But, yes it was Woody thought so too

 

We laughed so much together.

 

When I suffocate that laughter with tears, I’m not remembering Woody in the light where he belongs

 

He wasn’t made of sunshine and honeysuckle, but I cannot count the times he made me feel joy and happiness I haven’t been sure how to feel happy things about him

 

I’ve been afraid that I might accidentally let him go if i didn’t hurt for the thought of him

 

I can’t stop carrying this grief

 

And don’t want to

 

I dont align myself with any understanding for laying down I wil, however, laugh out loud when want to

 

When his memory makes me smile, I’m going to smile. I miss him every day

 

He altered me

 

I almost don’t remember me before him

I don’t know me without him

 

Woody, you beautiful, ugly sweet, mean man My heart is a constant ache from bleeding you

 

Log in to write a note