I Witnessed A Friend Go Insane; My Birthday

The day before my 29th birthday, I was a bit aggitated. My family had completely forgot. None of my friends seemed interested in doing anything. I hadn’t heard from Leo for a week. So I messaged him asking what the hell was up with his disappearing acts. He reminded me that we weren’t dating and I apologized and said that it was my birthday tomorrow and everyones forgotten about me.

At 12 am on the dot, I got a message from Leo saying “Happy Birthday”. We spoke until 1 am then said our goodbyes.

The next day I pestered him until he agreed to hang out. He seemed extremely reluctant and I decided that it was my birthday, I wasn’t taking no for an answer. I wanted to go out to eat, he asked me if I wanted to come over and talk for a bit first. I agreed. We spoke for a few hours, laughed and talked about really deep, intense emotional things. He asked me again what my deepest fears were, but mundane things like spiders or….

I told him tics.

He said “OMG THERE’S A TIC” and pointed to my leg and I screamed, then glared at him.

“Oh you ass.”

“Ha ha ha! You hungry? I can cook you something if you want….”

“Ohhh no you don’t.” I started. “It’s my birthday. We are going out for Mexican no if’s ands or butts about it mister!”

He sighed. He really didn’t feel like going out but he got his keys and told me that we were taking his car. I got in and he drove me to the restaurant. Something about him driving me out to eat was extremely sexy. Everything about Leo just turned me on.

I made the mistake of telling him to order whatever he wanted. He got an appetizer and a dinner. I got a pina colada and taquitos. He scarfed his meal down, and he beamed at me from across the table like a little boy on Christmas morning. “This is soo good! I am so glad I came!!”.

Leo had a blast. His grumpy face turned to complete joy, and that pleased me greatly. “I normally wouldn’t be pushy about you coming out with me, but I’m a bit of a princess on my birthday.”.

His face became really serious, “You can’t be like that with kids.”.

Again, with the ‘kids’ talk. I just stared at him and he lectured me about motherhood.

“My birthday is the day before my Moms. When you have kids, your birthdays are no longer special…bla bla bla”.

“Well it’s good I don’t have children yet! So birthday princess I am”, I interjected. What the fuck. Why does Leo always talk to me as if we are dating and he has plans for the future, then he turns around and tells me he is only interested in friendship? This is getting really confusing….and I’m really getting kind of tipsy.

When we went to pay, I noticed Leo checked me up and down with this look on his face like he was thinking I was the most scrumptious thing he had ever seen. I admit, it turned me on.

I asked him if I could stay a few minutes for me to sober up, that I’m a bit of a light weight. So we sat in his driveway, and he showed me his music collection. He popped in a classical cd, and exposed his soft underbelly. This turned me on immensely. We spoke about the music and I admitted I liked Swan Lake. He went to show me his favorite song and I became excited, as it was Hall of The Mountain King, my favorite as well. After I sobered up a bit, we hugged goodbye.

This was the BEST birthday ever….

And the last time I would ever see Leo sane again.

Log in to write a note
March 5, 2018

You write very cathartically. I know precisely what you mean about being overly sensitive. I am also. You have to let adult maturity and rational thought rule and develop a kewl distance from others or you wind up being destroyed as a person. Yet, in the relationships that matter one has to learn when to let someone completely in. I know where this is going because I am your friend (a clue). My advice is to finish the bad part. Get all of it out and get it over with. I am a writer and you are doing what I do avoiding the part that is the hardest. By the way the part about his Mother was way premature on his part and it may have caused the issue entirely. You will never know that for certain, but I suspect it may be accurate. Mothers have profound effects on their sons.

April 4, 2018

WOW, this is such a hard piece to read, so many emotions. I wanted to save Leo and make him better. You are a gifted writer.