I Witnessed A Friend Go Insane; The Beginning

I come on here, to pour my heart out. As the title says, I witnessed my friend go insane. Yes. Insane. As in the depths of psychosis took him. What’s even more shocking is that no one in his life even knew he was dealing with this. He hid it well, until he had his first psychotic break. We will call him “Leo”.

The story begins in the spring of 2002. I was thirteen years old, in the eighth grade and attempting to participate in gym class when my teacher announces we had a new student by the name of Leo. Then he paired me up with the fat blonde kid to play badminton. I hated him the second I laid eyes on him. I don’t know what my deal was. I suppose it had to do with the fact that I was a very shallow thirteen year old girl with an eating disorder, who hated gym class, and felt inferior around people as it was. I felt uncomfortable with myself and my surroundings without having to deal with some awkward kid. And so we awkwardly passed the birdie back and forth. Missing. Shuffling our feet. Looking at the ground. And that was that. I never paid attention to the kid again until ninth grade.

I was friends with these two misfit girls, we will call them Maria and Thelma. One day after school they invited me to an AIM chatroom they had made because Thelma had a boyfriend she wanted me to meet. His name was Leo and apparently he was the new kid. His AIM nickname was “BONGMASTER”. I was mean to him. Told him he better treat her right. He said he would and we were added to each others buddy lists.

Ninth grade was a shitty year. I dated Maria’s psychopath of a brother and he was my first real sexual experience. He also sexually abused me, but I dont feel like reliving that at the moment. I spoke to Leo on AIM and he tells me he broke up with Thelma and fooled around with Maria at the movies. Maria denied it, then said he had a small pecker and my psycho boyfriend wanted to beat up Leo. I think I also told Leo how he was treating me so with all the drama he went to the high school, stood out there in the cold rain and waited to kick my abusive boyfriends ass. The coward never showed.

My relationship with Leo was strange. It was like a love hate thing from the start. We’d always get into it, then a few months later be friends again. Talk on AIM. In our junior year, I was flirting with him at the lunch table and threw a juice box at him. His overly sensitive ass took it as an offensive gesture and threw his entire lunch tray at me. So I went to the principal and tattled. They didn’t give a shit. I went to class and ended up throwing my textbook at him, storming out the room and never returning to that class again.

That’s the class where we met a really tall skinny girl I will name Bridgette. She was new that year and Leo was head over heels for her. I admit it made me oddly jealous. Not because I had feelings for him, as I was goo goo over someone else…but it was more of a possessive jealousy. It pissed me off watching him poke her with his pencil and her turn around and giggle and say stop. Like two little elementary kids. When I asked him if he liked her he denied it and said she was too skinny and hairy. Whatever Leo.

That summer I lost my virginity to one of Leo’s friends. We’ll call him Ass. Ass and a bunch of his friends would call me and tell me to kill myself. Leo was not one of them. I asked my Mom if I could be home schooled my senior year and she agreed. It worked out for the best because a few months later, my grandfather died and my entire life flipped upside down.

I remember when senior year first started, I got on AIM and saw that Leo was online. I message him “Why aren’t you in school?”. “Skipping” he replied. So I invited him over to hang out and we watched movies and chilled all day. I had two puppies and tried to give them to him, but he said his Mom was a dog hoarder so…..no. I took him home when it was getting dark out and we sat in his driveway talking. I asked him if he wanted to see my boobs. He said “yes”, so I showed him. He said “I’m hard” and I said “really??”. He said “no” and we said our goodbyes shortly after. At the end of senior year, he lost a LOT of weight and started partying. I noticed he got kinda popular but didn’t pay too much attention to him. I was more occupied with my own shit life.

 

And here I will end this part of the story. I shall return to tell the rest another time.

Log in to write a note
February 22, 2018

I know the subject matter of this is not light-hearted, but I just wanted to say you are a wonderful story teller.