and here we are months later….

So it’s been a long time since I updated, but I guess life does that sometimes.

My son is doing amazing.  He’s got a state job, a beautiful boyfriend, and is concerned with things like repairing his credit.

I realize that a relapse can happen any time, anywhere, but he’s been on the right track for months now.

I couldn’t be happier with that.

We were standing in my kitchen this morning talking about Christmas (Me, him, and his sister) and I was telling them how I like to BUY the christmas presents, but I don’t like to wrap them.

Me: “And that’s actually way better than last Christmas, because nobody got shit.  I didn’t even cook Christmas dinner”

Him: I was in jail last Christmas

Me: Which is why nobody got shit, and there was no Christmas dinner.  I sat around and cried all day”

and then we all busted up laughing

Why? It’s not funny.  It really isn’t.  But I guess maybe we were more relieved that things had changed so much over the last year.

Last Christmas was a mess.

This Christmas is looking pretty good.

Thank God.

Log in to write a note
December 18, 2020

i know someone who is in recovery and his mother will not even speak of hard times they have gone through with him. This is very painful for him. Great that you can appreciate today so much because of your yesterdays.

December 18, 2020

@healingtrips  That makes me incredibly sad.  It comes up a lot here, but not necessarily in a negative way, but more as a ”remember when” way.  I have forgiven him for what he’s done while on drugs.  He has forgiven me for what I’ve had to do. Maybe I’ll write an entry on what its like to talk about it in the aftermath, during sobriety.  I’m sure your friend NEEDS to talk about it.  Bless his heart 🙁