Apologies

Today I finally apologized to Michael. Last January I was so hurt by him forgetting we had plans and took it so personally because I had such a crush on him. It was like another rejection. My head was in the clouds and all in could see was how forgettable I was rather than a friend who simply had a lot going on and accidentally spaced out on plans.

I wish he had told me he had a gf. Then I would have completely understood, but I wanted to believe things based off of how I felt and validated getting upset with him because of that. I took it personally and held on to resentment, rather than thinking there must have been a good reason for him to forget. Especially since he had so much going on.

He said he appreciated it, was sorry for being such a goofus, and was just glad that we were okay. So that was that! Another weight was lifted off of my shoulders. ๐Ÿ˜ช๐Ÿ˜Š No matter how much time goes by it feels really good to get stuff off of your chest. The worst that can happen is awkwardness, but thatโ€™s really not bad and most people are very gracious about apologies.

Iโ€™m just so glad to have my friend back. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Log in to write a note
January 18, 2020

Wonderful! Forgiveness is marvelous!

January 19, 2020

@glitterampwings Yes! I feel so much better!