HOME! :-D

After a grueling day of traveling and  dealing with the holiday airport chaos, I was finally here! I stepped outside into the wonderfully freezing temperature and smiled to myself as I wrapped my scarf around my neck and pulled my gloves on. Just a shuttle ride away from being home!

My dad was waiting for me at the gas station where the I got dropped off and I gave him a big hug 🙂  I saw that he had the dogs with him 🙂 and as soon as I got in the car and said hello Beau jumped into my lap and started giving me kisses! I noticed that he’s blind now. Poor guy. Getting old! I asked my dad if he thinks they will have him for another year and he said "It depends on your mother! If it were her choice he’ll be around til he ends up passing out on our floor!" Beau has diabetes and my mom has to inject him with insulin at certain time increments during the day. She is so dedicated to those animals! I think it’s because she no longer has any children to take care of at home lol. Kujo didn’t seem to recognize me. He didn’t seem to care much that I was back. I think that also has to do with the fact that I never found him to be the brightest of animals lol.

As soon as I walked through the door of my house I was filled with that warm fuzzy feeling.  My mom had decorated really nicely for the holidays with candles and wreaths, and pine centerpieces! One thing I though was funny is that she put a beard and a santa hat on the deer head mounted on the wall! That really cracked me up haha. There were candles lit and I could see the christmas tree that Ali and Jonah had picked all lit up! It was HUGE! I mean a big fat 9 footer this year! But beautiful! The box of ornaments was sitting on the floor in front of it so I plan on getting those up as soon as possible! 

Everything was the same except that the basement was no longer my dads workshop, and just used just for storage, but then the whole other section of the house, that used to be my dads office and an extra apartment, was made into my dads NEW wood workshop! As soon as I opened the door I gasped. It was like walking from a home into a Home Depot lol. There’s always something new that is being worked on or changed  I swear haha.

My sister and her husband helped me put my luggage in one of the guest rooms and I noticed that not only was the bed nicely made, but my mom had put together a little basket with the gluten free pamelas cookies I like so much, gold fish crackers AAAAND peppermint bark! So weird. I remember her always doing this for guests, now I am a guest as well. I snuck a peak into my old room and it was filled with storage of things that she probably didn;t know what to do with yet. It still felt mine though. Like it still had my energy in it.

After getting myself settled I went to look for my cat Jake Jake! There he was sleeping on my moms bed. I came in and he looked at me with this confused stare. Then I said "Jake Jake! the way I always said it" and his ears perked and his tail started thumping I wasn’t sure if he recognized me at first but it wasn’t long until he was mushing up against me and following me around the house just like before 🙂 He wasn’t even mad at me! I was so shocked and it made me happy that he seems to have missed me as much as I missed him! He is sleeping next to me as I type this 🙂

My mom called us all for dinner, which was lamb, potatoes and cooked brocolli. Yummy! We all chatted as we ate and just having everyone together made me so happy!

Ah it’s so good to be home!
Just seeing the lake and the lawn and all the lush green forests! Man I don’t think I even saw a single real large lawn in Los Angeles. I think it’s really hard to get grass to stay green there anyway. My mom needed some things from the store so I offered to go because I really wanted to drive here again 🙂 Even just being on the roads was refreshing. It’s been a year of streets filled with traffic, cross walks, pedestrians, and stop lights, so being on the dark, wet, quiet roads with no traffic or people was just… nice. ^_^

Hm I have no idea what I am doing tomorrow! My nail lady and dear friend Inge whom I have known since I was 15 is coming over to do my nails and have some girl chat in the morning, I know that, but otherwise I am not sure yet! I already feel like my time here is passing too quickly!

Okay time for bed. Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night!

Log in to write a note
December 20, 2010

Saw you on the front page — your homecoming makes me feel all warm and fuzzy and Christmassy 🙂

December 20, 2010

I love being home and getting food made for me. It makes you so much more greatful lol

December 20, 2010

that does sound so nice! i hope you have a great time at home and a great christmas and new year! lol lets also hope it doesn’t snow 😛