new years!

The next few days after christmas was spent gathering decorations, food, and beverages for my new years party! Everything had to be perfect! It was to be gold, silver, white, and black colors. I had streamers, cups, plates, party favors, etc! I even bought yards of black and see through fabris to transform our living room glass door curtains into elegant satin drapes! I left them open and hung the sheer material between them so that the outer deck was visible! I wanted it to be this way because I had bought twinkling snowflake lamps to put along the edge of the deck that would be visible from the inside through the sheer fabric creating a romantic scene 🙂

I made sure the wii was hooked up and that i had plenty of boos. I spent over 150 on alcahol and mixers lol. I even had a red carpet to put outside for guests when they arrive!

The trickiest thing was putting together my balloon columns. I had bought two large pieces of pvc pipe to attach them to, but had no clue on how I was going to do it! Jon to the rescue! He came over when I asked if he would help and created a balloon column masterpiece! I couldn’t have been more thankful 🙂 Of course…when he was done with the balloon columns my brother and him decided to take them and rub them all over my head , creating static so that my hair would stand on end….this went on for about 15 minutes…it wasn’t so funny to me, but for some reason it was absolutely HILARIOUS to them lol. but i let them have their fun 😛

The reason I wanted the balloon columns was because I had made a backdrop for my guests to stand in front of for pictures when they arrived! My sister offerred to take pictures with her camera 🙂 Also for my birthday she and kimo bought me 2 awesome shakers for making drinks and a box to put all of my lemons, cherries, limes and olives in! YAY!

The day of the party was soooo hectic. From morning till guests arrived I was running around in a frenzy trying to finish last minute things. Tacking up paper flowers (that i had spent a long time making with jon ) and making sure that the all the balloons were filled up with helium. Rachel, mike, and kimo all helped me that morning which I was really appreciative of! At one point I jumped up onto a chair to grab something from a cupboard and didnt see that that cupboard was open so when I stood up…BANG!

I hit my head really hard on the corner of the open door and fell off the chair onto the kitchen floor <–hey that kinda ryhmed!

eh hem. My friend mike was over and saw it happen so he rushed over and asked me if i was okay. It hurt soo bad! That was the first time I had felt like crying from pain in a long while….but some of the tears were from stress. "It’s getting late and I don’t have everything done! There is just so much to do!!!"

Mike was really sweet saying "Hey don’t worry everything is going to be fine it doesn’t have to be perfect and what you have done already is just fine!"

I think I was pretty angry and snapped at him so I felt really bad about it later. I forgot to apologize though so I need to to that. Any way people were supposed to arrive at 7 and at 6:30 I still didn’t have my dress on , my hair done, or my makeup ready! I rushed upstairs and by the time I was downstairs drying my hair and puttin on mascara I heard the door open "OH NO! THEY ARE ARRIVING AND IM NOT READY!"

First was josh, then my friend ben, and then sean. Luckily my mom kept their attention at bay having them help her put the food out while i finished getting ready. I felt really bad because I wanted to be ready in order to greet my guests at the door, but nothing ever goes according to plan 😛 *sigh*

To eat we provided gormet chicken alfredo pizza, potstickers, seasoned chicken tenders in a yummy sauce, jallepeno poppers, little quiches, a veggie platter, lava cakes, berry tartlets, a fruit platter, and pound cake squares!

Soon more and more people arrived and then a crowed started forming! I was in the kitchen being bartender making drink after drink for all of my friends :-). I didn’t really mind doing it, i was getting more experience and still having fun! That night I made myself a white russian, a long island ice tea, a sex on the beach, and a cosmo! My parents left to go see a movie so it was just all of us at the house. i played against ben and erick at foosball and then joined the group in the living room to play mario kart (which i kick ass at by the way ) 😉

okay lets see if i can remember every single person that were at the party….

there was charity, michael, riley, kenneth, kendall, david, jon, sean, steven, doug, courtney, netosha, mike g, mike a, josh, jeff, megan, ali, jonah, blake, his friend…..chris? erick, jen, julie, moe, and jimmy! Not everyone could stay till midnight but i was happy that most of them did 🙂

We all drank, we all laughed, we all cheered, and we took lots and lots of pictures! and of course my camcorder was recording throughout the night! 

"TEN! NINE! EIGHT! SEVEN! SIX! FIVE! FOUR! THREE! TWO! ONE! HAAAPPPY NEEEWWW YEEAAR!!!!" Everyone was in my living room hootin and hollering and I looked over and saw Josh! I figured "eh, Josh likes guys so he wont mind!" and planted one on him! 😀 the look on his face was so funny! he was so shocked! he didnt seem to mind too much :-). Then all of a sudden I was being attacked my party confetti poppers!

Yup, it was a night to remember. I am so glad that I held that party and I am so glad I got to spend new years with so many friends :-).


 

Log in to write a note
January 4, 2009

it was an amazing party!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for all the hard work u did!!!! oh and ur drinks=delicious!! really like the tequila sunset and i don’t even like tequila!! lol

January 4, 2009

yea i hate hosting parties. maybe not hate, but it is a pain… i dont mind helping others plan parties and get things ready….. anyways, sounds like an awesome party! especially the part about the booze 😛 Have a Nice Day!

January 4, 2009

ps: u look absolutely gorgeous in that picture…. just had to throw that out there…. 😉 Have a Nice Day!