Night Terrors

I have been having nightmares again recently. Very odd ones too and repeating with the same theme.  At least three times I have had a dream of my family purchasing  an old cool looking huge house to renovate and at one point, while I’m high up on the third or fourth floor, the house falls down. Not like straight down ,but like I can feel it start to sway and start to tilt like a tree. It’s very scary and I feel the vertigo. In my other dreams I have horrible fight or flight dreams where I feel hunted or doomed.

For example, last night I dreamt that I had somehow got sucked into a horror movie I had watched and since I had already seen it before I knew that everyone in the movie ends up dying by getting eaten by this disgusting horrendous monster. Of course all the characters in the movie don’t seem to be aware that I’m not supposed to be there, and I am the only one who knows what’s going to happen, but somehow I can’t say anything so all I can do is go along with them through the story line, knowing very well what horrors are to come and thinking about how I’m going to survive.

This group of young people and I rent a cabin, have a bon fire, etc and as darkness falls my heart beats faster and faster. I woke up in a sweat at 3:30am with my heart beating wildly in my chest. Even though I knew then that it was a dream and not real, the fear does not seem to go away. It feels like something really was wanting to attack me, like some invisible spiritual entity. I could sense danger even though I was now fully conscious and awake. It was very unsettling and I had a hard time going back to sleep. I have my cat close and finally drifted off with one hour of sleep left until I had to get up for work.

I haven’t had dreams like that in a very long time, so I’m not really sure why this is happening, but I’m going to look into it.

Log in to write a note
April 18, 2018

Could it be trauma induced night terrors? The house dream…the situation is not sturdy or sound construction? I’m no expert. Just making guesses here.

April 29, 2018

@tiffany_b That is what is confusing. I have not had any tesuma in my life. I am a very happy non-stressed person! It’s so weird.