rainy days in WA vs. rainy days in L.A.

It rains a lot in the state of Washington, so all of the roads have little light reflectors on their painted lines and everyone knows to drive at a slower speed and have control.

It never rains in Southern California, so when it does, you can barely see the dividing lane lines on streets, or not see them at all, which causes cars to swerve in and out of their lanes. Plus. People are not used to the rain and the reflecting light off of the water and hydroplaning, so there are tons of accidents. Oh and not to mention traffic is TEN TIMES WORSE! AHHH! It makes me want to rip my hair out! 

What should have taken me a half hour took me 2 hours to get home on the way back from my scene partner stevens house. Oh and someone rear ended me. I’m sitting in the left hand turning lane, waiting to turn left and BAM! Out of no where! I think my heart seriously stopped for a second! I unrolled my window and motioned for the guy behind me to pull over. We got out, I checked for damage. Nothing! Thank goodness I have such a big bumper! His car was unharmed as well, which surprised me. He asked me if I was okay and I smiled and laughed saying "Oh yeah I’m fine, it just scared me! Are you okay?" He smiled and said yeah. Then we hugged and said goodbye. 
Nice fella. He looked as if he was going to cry. Not surprised since in most other cases, the girl would probably have been a bitch to him and somehow found some false damage or claimed bodily injury or something.

Not long after that I laughed because the car in front of me had a license plate that said " IBSUIN" 

Well it sucks for anyone who ever rear ends that car! Haha!

I was supposed to go to a play later. Actually I was on my way, but was terrified because of all the drivers who couldn’t handle the rain. I had to avoid three more accidents and since I was going to be late anyway, I finally said screw it and went back home. A play was not worth losing my life or my car over!

In LA I prefer to listen to the rain, or walk in the rain, but never drive.

It sort of reminds me of how the coasties (new coast gaurd citizens) drive during the winter in Kodiak Alaska haha. Whenever there was an accident it was always a coastie.

All right I’m going to turn on some music and get my boogie on! Latas!

Log in to write a note
February 18, 2011

you know what i love about LA and NYC? when it rains, it RAINS. just torrential downpours. and it’s so wonderful to just sit and listen to. in WA it just sprinkles which isn’t nearly as satisfying. – noah

February 19, 2011

I hate driving in the rain. Hard to see, loud, traffic. yuck!

February 19, 2011

It’s like that here with snow. Where I’m from pol can handle it, but here in Toronto they freak iut

February 23, 2011

I totally have that song in my head now….