The owl at 3am

Wednesday I did a quick meditation in my hotel room and asked for guidance and clarity from my spiritual guides.

I got home from work just before 3am and dragged my suitcase out of my truck. I shut the door, turn around and see a huge bird of some sort flying right at me! I yelped and covered my head at the unexpected surprise and right before it hit me it swooped up over my head into the tree I was standing next to. I slowly lowered my arms and looked up to see a barred owl staring down at me. She was perched just 6 feet up and I gazed at her in awe. I thought owls were shy creatures!

I then began to speak to her “Oh well hello there! You startled me! I hope I didn’t startle you!”
Some head bobs.

” What a very beautiful bird you are! I love your markings. You must live around here don’t you?”

Turns head.

I spoke with her and watched her for BB about 10 minutes and then she flew to the tree across the street. I immediately thought about my sister and knew she’d want to see it so I went ahead and called her to wake her up. She groggily answered the phone and I said

“I’m so sorry to wake you Rachel, but you will want to see this. There’s an owl just outside the house.”

My sister came outside quietly and I pointed to where the owl was perched. I wanted her to have some alone time with the owl as well.
After a while we both went inside. I wanted to stay longer, but I was extremely exhausted and had to be up to run errands in the morning.

When I got into bed I looked up owl medicine to see what message I was receiving. Sure enough I saw “If owl has crossed your path, you are being asked to use your keen powers of silent observation to intuit some life situation. Owl is befriending you and aiding you in seeing the total truth. Owl can bring you messages in the night through dreams or meditation. Pay attention to the signals and omens. The truth always brings further enlightenment.”

My guides sent me a sign through nature, and I’d like to think it means that I’m doing things right. This isn’t my first encounter with an owl, but definitely the most intimate. I will never forget it.

Log in to write a note