The Tree of Life

I am a very curious creature.

Always searching, always watching, always listening, wanting to know everything and enjoying the wonderment of not knowing. My mind tends to wander a lot, and as I was driving home tonight after watching The Tree of Life, I thought about the way we live our lives, generally speaking.

I thought, here we are, all striving to be something, to achieve something, to be great, but while we are busy driving to work, rushing to make it on time to our appointment’s, thinking about our schedules and making plans, we sometimes forget to enjoy and embrace life. I saw a quote one time…ah what was it? Something  like "Ah what a beautiful place, I wish I were here." I too get so caught up in everything that I forget to notice the way the sunset looks like a painting, or listen to the sounds of the chirping birds. How many times do we put work above play? How often do we put everything else aside just to be be in the state of just…being? I don’t want to one day wake up in a big house, with a perfect yard, and brand new car and realize that I’ve missed out.  It’s important to find a balance in life, and to stop and smell the roses every once in a while. 🙂

This movie really reminded me of that, and reminded me again of how important family, and love is, and to really enjoy every moment. This film is a lot like the film "The Fountain" If you aren’t patient, or you tend to get restless and cannot sit still for very long, I don’t know if this film is for you lol It’s very slow moving, and the story line leaves a lot to your imagination. It really is a beautiful piece of art.Okay time for bed 🙂

Hanny

Log in to write a note
June 11, 2011

I agree with you completely. However we just can’t stop and smell the roses…The zombies will catch up to us.