Christmas

Well, it’s 2:00 a.m. the day after Christmas and Stephen and I are still up. As long as we don’t go to bed Christmas isn’t over yet LOL…at least that’s what we keep telling ourselves. He and I are always a little depressed on Christmas night when it’s all over so we just stay up together until we are very tired. We’ve done that for as long as I can remember…but usually not this late. We’ve both had two cups of coffee so we could be up for a while.

Our Christmas was very nice…I LOVE this time of year. For most of the year my family is very scattered out. Stephen is gone either working on the pipeline with my Dad all summer or he’s back in school two hours away. I go weeks without seeing him, although we talk every day. So for these two weeks I enjoy every minute of him being here. Kaylyn is gone a lot with school, sports, working or with friends so I also enjoy what time I get with her and Jose’ is off work for two weeks. The house seems very full right now and I go to bed every night so happy that we are all under the same roof.

Christmas Eve I spent the day cleaning the house, wrapping a few last minute gifts and making pies. I made one pecan and two chocolate. Jose’ is so good and got up that morning and went to Walmart to get all the food we would need for Christmas day and that night. I’m lucky he does that for me, he’s so good. I let the kids open one gift each before we left to make our rounds at the grandparents’ houses. Stephen opened his black long sleeve shirt from Belk, Kaylyn her seven pairs of Victoria Secret panties, Kinley her pets 3D stuffed animal and Landon a Ben 10 toy. I even opened one because I knew it was my brown boots and I wanted to wear them that night. We left at 5:30 to go to Daddy’s, later than we had planned and we were the last ones there but they waited on us.

Here are a few pictures we took before we left for Daddy’s.

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

We did pictures first at Daddy’s then we ate. We had brisket, turkey, rolls to make sandwiches, chips and dips, pizza rolls and a lot of sweets. Then we did gifts. The adults draw names and the kids draw names and then Daddy and Lynn buy for all the grandkids. My SIL drew my name and got me a really nice purse. It’s a Kathy purse, which I had never heard of but Kaylyn had. It’s very big and it’s yellow. I would have never bought myself a purse like this but love it. Landon got more Ben 10 stuff, Kinley got a blanket with her name on it, an MP3 player, earrings, puzzles and a goodie box of stuff. Stephen got a table top air hockey game, socks and a $25.00 gift card to Walmart. Kaylyn got the movie Four Christmases, a picture frame, socks and a gift card to Walmart. Jose’ got a jacket.

Here are some of the pictures from Daddy’s house.

photobucket

The next one is Kaylyn with my niece, Madison. She is my twin sister’s daughter.

photobucket

photobucket

This one is my Daddy and stepmother with all the grand kids.

photobucket

After we left there we went to the inlaw’s house. One of my SILs wasn’t able to come but everyone else was there. We ate again and then opened gifts. I got a Yankee candle from MIL. She gave Stephen and Kaylyn each $50.00 and they got shirts from my SIL. Kinley got a designer art tracing thing and a swirl art thing from MIL and a shirt from SIL. Landon got a V-Tech computer and a shirt and Jose’ got pajama bottoms. We stayed there until around 11:00 and then went home and got ready for Santa :-). Kinley and Landon sprinkled the reindeer food/glitter outside and then put out milk and cookies for Santa. I just don’t think there’s anything more exciting than Christmas Eve!! I love the feeling when everything is done and I lay down that night with my Christmas music playing in the bedroom and fall asleep knowing how much fun we’ll have the next morning.

Here are a few pictures taken at in-law’s house.

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

And the kids with their reindeer food 🙂

photobucket

Jose’ got up at 5:00 to start the chicken boiling for the dressing and Kaylyn came and woke me up at 5:30 and said she couldn’t go back to sleep. I told her we would lay there until 6:00 and then go wake everyone else up…so that’s what we did. I was afraid Stephen woudln’t want to get up that early but he jumped right out of bed :-). Everyone loved everything they got. I got a new phone, a Blackberry Storm 2 and I love it!! I was afraid of it at first and not sure I could figure it all out but I have. I also got from Jose’

two shirts, pajamas and panties from Victoria Secret and houseshoes and from Stephen I got a cd of piano music and some candles. I had a very good Christmas!

Kaylyn was home most of the day but did go for a few hours to her boyfriend’s house. My sister, Lori, and husband came over that night for a while. After dark and after Kaylyn got home we did our stockings. We always wait until after dark on Christmas day to do them because it gives us something to look forward to all day.

So, that was our Christmas :-). I’m sad it’s over, always am. It just got here too fast this year. I’m not even a little bit tired of my tree and not tired of hearing Christmas music. Now it’s time to get ready for the New Year.

Log in to write a note
December 27, 2009

Sounds like you guys had such a wonderful Christmas! It’s so cool that you and Stephen stay up late and enjoy the holiday for as long as you can. WHEN did Kinley grow up?! I remember her being such a tiny little girl! They grow too fast! *HUGS* ~ Stephani

December 27, 2009

Sounds like you guys had a great holiday. I am always so sad for it to be over too. I really hate when I take the decorations down and it looks so bare.

December 27, 2009

Your family is stunningly beautiful! Your thoughts mirror mine, I treasure Christmas time and am sad to see it end.

December 27, 2009
December 27, 2009

I’ve had my tree up for so long I’m kind of ready for it to go back in the box. We had a wonderful Christmas. Now it’s time to look forward to Bailey’s and Landon’s birthdays. =))