Good Morning :-)

It’s the calm before the storm here so thought I’d take a minute to catch up here and write.

Last night was a fun night. My sister Lori, her husband and best friend came over. Stephen’s girlfriend came, too, but they went out. Jose’ and I cooked a ham, peas, cabbage and bread in my bread machine. We also had some chili (it’s like a green gravy with pork chops cut up in it) to put on the beans. My sister brought some firecracker cookies and a dump cake. We played games on the playroom floor after we ate. First we played Toss Up, a dice game. Then we played Battle of the Sexes card game…that was FUN and the women won the best two out of three :-). We also played Pictureka with Kinley a few times and table top air hockey with Landon. I couldn’t believe how fast the night flew by! After everyone left Jose’ and I cleaned up the kitchen and cleaned out the refrigerator some to make room for all the food. Right after we went to bed Stephen called and asked Jose’ to come pick him and his girlfriend up from his friend’s house because they had been drinking and didn’t want to drive. I am glad he called and did the right thing…although I’d be more happy if he hadn’t been drinking. But, he’s 20 years old now so I really don’t tell him what he can and can’t do anymore.

TWENTY!! My baby turned 20 last week, the 28th of December. Is that crazy?! I still can’t get use to how that sounds. He had to work with my Dad and brother on his birthday. I cooked gumbo in the crockpot for supper since that’s his favorite meal and made him his favorite caramel cake. We wanted to get him new seat covers for his truck but they didn’t have the ones he wanted at Walmart so will have to wait until we go to Academy. I did get him two little things to open just so he would have gifts. I got him a blanket and a deal to carry his stuff to the bathroom and back in the dorms.

So, today is New Year’s Day. Twenty years ago today I brought my first baby home from the hospital. Today we will have a house full of people. Jose’ is cooking out on the grill with two of his cousins and I’m sure their kids. I’ve already told Jose’ I don’t want kids running in and out all day since it’s wet and muddy out there. I’m not sure what all he is cooking. I know he has ribs, sausage, boudain, gizzards and stuffed jalapeno peppers but not sure what else. He loves cooking on the grill!! He has the t.v. outside under the patio so they can watch the big football game. My sister and her kids are also coming and will stay a couple of nights. I’m so happy they are coming! She said they would be here early but so far they haven’t even left their house and they live a little over an hours away. She’s bringing a LOT of fireworks for us to do tonight so I hope it won’t be raining like it was last night.

I feel so tired right now and not sure how I will make it through the day. Maybe if I got up from this chair and got dressed I would feel better.

Happy New Year to all my friends here!!

Log in to write a note
January 2, 2010

20? Wow! Where oh where does the time gooo?? Of course, I can’t believe I’M 30! haha!

January 2, 2010

I’m jealous. I want all that hustle and bustle. LoL

January 6, 2010

thank you for your kind notes. as always, they are more helpful than you know. it’s just… so hard to keep putting all of myself out here, and having people jump all over me like they do. it makes me feel like i’m wasting my time by being myself here. and it makes me want to close myself off and shut down. *sighs* i don’t know what to do anymore. i don’t know if i’m coming or going. and i hate that feeling. as for the cdl, sadly he doesn’t even have a regular license. would be helpful if he did, but there’s no one to teach him how to drive. and no one to practice with. not to mention how costly a car is, as well as the insurance for it. but a cdl would come in handy. maybe someday. i do think he needs to get into something more stable. he’s looking around. there’s not a lot to be had in any field right now. but he’s trying.