Hospital Again

I’ve had another hospital stay but this time it was with Stephen. He started running a fever last Saturday, his throat was hurting and he was coughing some. On Sunday I wanted to take him to the ER but he said he’d rather wait and go to his doctor on Monday morning…so we did. That morning he had 101 fever and his whole body hurt. I don’t remember ever seeing him feel that bad unless it was when he was four and had the flu. He just doesn’t get sick that often. His throat looked so bad that the doctor was sure it was strep and after doing some bloodwork said the infection had gotten into his blood. He said he wanted to put him in the hospital for at least one night. He went ahead and did a strep test just to have on record and it came back negative. He was really surprised. So, he said to expect to stay a couple of nights because they would have to do a throat culture to figure out what was going on. Stephen was fine with that. He just felt bad and wanted to feel better. They went ahead and gave him a shot of Rosephen before we left.

We went home to get a few things and to get Landon what he would need to go to my MIL’s. I hated leaving him :-(. He kept saying “please can we go home”. He knew something was going on. He did okay when I dropped him off.

So, we were in the hospital for three nights. They couldn’t let him go home after two nights because he was still running 101 fever. Also, they did a chest xray the first day we were there and found out he had pnemonia :-(. It wasn’t bad yet but it was there. He said the same infection that was causing the throat problems had caused that too. The first evening we were there he ran 103 fever and his head hurt so bad it was making him sick. They kept saying give the Tylenol time to work but after an hour of him hurting like that I went down and begged them to give hime something to help him. So, the nurse came down with some Phenergan shot and said since he felt sick she could give him that. That did the trick plus pretty much knocked him out for the next 12 hours. The next day he did pretty good all day, just some fever on and off. But, that evening he started hurting BAD in his throat. The nurses said they had never seen anyone’s tonsils look so bad. His throat was almost closed up. They gave him some stuff to swish around in his mouth and throat but that didn’t help at all. He was in severe pain :-(. It was making me so mad because noone should hurt like that in a hospital. He tried to sleep but just couldn’t. I dozed off but woke up at 1:30 and he was sitting on the side of the bed just wringing his hands. I put my shoes on and walked down to the nurses station and told them something had to be done for him and he cannot suffer like that all night. So, FINALLY, she called his doctor and brought him down some Toradol and Steroid for the swelling. I felt like it was Christmas when they brought him that. It took about five minutes and finally gave him some relief. I get mad every time I think about them letting him hurt for those few hours :-(.

He got released Thursday morning. He really didn’t need to miss a whole week of school and may have trouble catching up in math but there’s nothing we could do about it.

Log in to write a note
April 19, 2008

Oh bless his heart! I’m sure praying for him. Nothing worse than a mother seeing her baby (no matter how big they are!) suffering like that. *HUGS to you both*

April 19, 2008

oh man. 🙁 i hope he’s doing better now. poor guy! 🙁 i hate it when my kids get sick.. and it seems like nothing is helping. i’m glad he’s out of the hospital. i hate hospitals.

April 19, 2008

Sounds like how Jamie was these past few yrs…his tonsils almost closed his throat too- I can’t wait for him to get them out next week and hopefully not get sick as much! Is he getting his out?? Poor thing! I hope he feels much better now. (((HUGS)))

April 19, 2008

How horrible! I understand how you felt. Hospitals are so unsympathetic. Glad to hear from you. Hope Stephen is feeling better.

April 21, 2008

I’m glad he’s out now and able to go back to school. You’re right, no one should suffer like that in a hospital!

Hi there. Saw you on a favorite’s diary. So sorry that your son has been so sick. I have been through similar situations in the hospital with my boys. I pray that he gets well soon! May I add you to my favorites?