Same old chipmunk burrow

Christ I’m becoming a Midwesterner again. Not such a bad thing, but not my intent. Example? I want to apologize for not being here for what seems like a long damn time. I wrote a few TS Eliot posts, that is one that dies without a bang but a whimper, even those seem long ago. Truth is I’m not sorry, I haven’t much to say and a surfeit of places not to say them in, included but not limited to; the real world. The real world is none to real, seems like it’s phoning it in. Why on earth would natural selection chose to make us self-aware? My theory is to give something for time to eat, something that knows it’s being eaten. Huh,

 

A long time ago during the Open Diary Pleistocene Period, I used to fuck with atheists on the religion page. It’s not that I have any particular affinity with the, mostly, Christians, or any particular animosity towards atheists. It’s more like the atheists were bully’s and trolls, the latter of which can be funny like a heckler at a comedy club. Bully’s, however, are never funny. Not to me. I find myself faced with a similar dilemma on Facebook, where I’m a little bit leery about making waves. I joined this group called Sunday Blasphemy. What attracted me at first was that is was a closed group, had to take a test, sort of, to get in. The first question and the first rule were no proselytizing and when of the other rules was to be funny. It was fun, and then the same damn thing happened; Atheists proselytizing and bullying, well, sort of. It’s hard to bully someone if you don’t let them on the playground. The admins operated in good faith, but you know.

 

And the arguments are always the same, and the atheists feel good, internet atheists, who don’t really represent the lack of a belief system, but espouse bullying and calling other people stupid based on their beliefs and an inherent air of superiority for not sharing those beliefs. The thing I understand the least, though, is how internet atheists love to quote the bible. I, for instance, don’t like Dan Brown, particularly the Da Vinci code.   I’ve never once found it necessary to denigrate somebody who like that shit, but, more to the point, I have never quoted from the Da Vinci code as my proof of what drivel it is.

 

No, I’m not suggesting more people be like me, that’d be terrifying. I guess I mean I wouldn’t be able to quote the Da Vinci code because I couldn’t make it more than a few pages in. And sure, a lot of atheists didn’t start off as atheists, but that’s an apology. Internet atheists hate apologists, at least, in online arguments. If I were their target demographic, and I’m not, I’m on a whole other bell curve altogether, they’d win a lot more points leaving it lay than pursuing a path of … contradictions.

 

I don’t know. There is some really funny shit on that page, shame one has to wade through not funny shit to get to it.

Log in to write a note
February 16, 2019

Okay I like Dan Brown books especially Inferno and Origin, but I agree it’s not everyone’s cup of tea.