Big Dawg’s Return

For the past couple of weeks, my dad has been back in the States; his dad (my Papa) was in the hospital because of a stroke. Of course, he had to be there for him, his sisters, and mother. Everytime Dad goes on a business trip or something of that nature, I feel like the underdog. James is a momma’s boy and this puts me in a very awkward position. Normally, our household is balanced; I’m a daddy’s girl. I sided with Dad, James sided with Mom. I’m a daddy’s girl because I’m not a wimp like James. Some people may scoff, but I’m tougher than I seem. I side with Dad because I know that, in the end, he’s the head of the household; I might as well be good in his book.

So, Big Dawg (our moniker for him) came home today. It’s so good to have him back but I can tell he’s just dying to go to bed right now. He’s slumped in his armchair. No, wait, he moved! WOW! Anyways, travelling across time zones is exhausting; I’m surprised he’s made it this far.

Everytime Dad goes on a trip, he brings us back goodies. This time around, James got some clothes (cuz he needed them badly), we both got Ice Breakers Sours and Twizlers, and he brought back about 6 DVDs. These include SuckerPunch (WOOT!), Avatar, Rango, Chicken Run (which we have on VHS back home, btw), Secondhand Lion, and the latest Narnia. Mom and Dad don’t think too highly of SuckerPunch so far. It’s more of a teenage geek movie anyway. I really, really want to watch Chicken Run; I’ve missed it.

In other news, I’ve gone and caught myself a cold. A very annoying, very painful cold. I ended up dining on Butter-Menthols last night. Being sick made school rather unpleasant today. I was the portrait of fatigue with a major headache. Tomorrow shouldn’t be any more pleasing; I have to stay at the school late for a Winter choir concert. Charming.

Daddy’s sickly girl,

Marissa

 

Log in to write a note
August 22, 2011

yeah, he likes me about long time 🙂 i’m new in this site, can i add people as friend or not?