Bronze Ash

"Bronze Ash" is the name of the nail polish I have on right now. It’s a shimmery copper tone that I find quite simple.

Bronze also relates to something else. This Saturday night, I sang in a competition called Eistedfodd By The Bay. I sang in two catergories: Contemporary Vocals and Musical Theatre. Beautiful Disaster by Kelly Clarkson was my first song and Somewhere from West Side Story was my second. Competition was stiff as a board. Some voices I heard that night made my jaw drop and my heart stop. I was petrified; I couldn’t sing half as well as some of those students. The Contemporary Vocals category, however, saw me with a 3rd place medal (which links back to the "Bronze", by the way).

I’ve been going over my achievement and the notes given to me by the judges. I’ve realized that I’m more of an alto than a soprano, although I can still hit some pretty high notes. This competition has made me consider musical theatre as a profession, not just as a hobby. It’s always been a life-long dream but I never thought I would pursue it; I always saw myself in a classroom, teaching history, with two kids and a husband. Specific, but, hey, I can have my little fantasies.

In other news, James leaves tomorrow on his big expedition with the other Year 9 boys. He’ll be gone for ten days and I can’t wait for him to go; all he ever does is sit around playing Minecraft and eating junk all day! It kind of ticks me off, actually; as a Year 12, I don’t have the time to do that all the time anymore.

This Saturday, my cousin Chad (Aunt Donna’s son) is coming to see us! He’s been taking a breather from college and wanted to come Down Under for some pure, wild adventure. He’ll be backpacking the Great Ocean Road and I just know he’s in for a treat.

Wannabe thespian,

Marissa

Log in to write a note