Cottage Bible Study – The Cast of Characters ;-)

First there’s Mr. and Mrs. M and their daughter K – they are the ones that host the Cottage Bible study. They seem to be a somewhat upscale family who live in a nice neighborhood in a middle-class house, certainly not ostentatious in any way, but comfortable and maybe a little conservative but VERY warm and inviting… mucho hospitable. They’re both pleasant looking and their daughter is extremely attractive… looks like 16 at age 12 with long blond hair, a pretty face and nice figure. She does not in the least appear conceited, stuck up, or superior in spite of the fact that she is better looking and smarter than most kids her age. As a matter of fact, she was quite pleasant and friendly to my son when he came for a youth event, inviting him to come out and play basketball with her friend and herself while they were awaiting the other youth to arrive. Mr. M travels all over the world for his work. He has a very dry sense of humor. Mrs. M works out of the house for a large company. I don’t know what either of them do but I’m sure they are each paid well and are fairly high in the company “food chain.”

Mrs. M knows her Bible. She generally prepares the Bible study. She is also a great participant in the Sunday Bible studies. She also knows her Lutheran Catechism. My very first impression of her in Sunday Bible study was that she was sort of an obnoxious know-it-all, but that (over time) changed to a grudging admiration of her knowledge and, eventually, I began to find her fun and warm and friendly. Now I’m really fond of her. This family, in fact, was the family that was in Puket during the recent tsunami. Fortunately they were out on a “live-aboard” boat during the day of the tsunami. Doubly-fortunate, they had been diving earlier in the day. When the tsunami swept through about fifty divers were lost from the various tour boats out at sea where they were! Mrs. M has short black hair and lively dark eyes. She is not thin but she is not fat… even plump is not the right word… sort of a normal to heavy… like size 14/16. Mr. M is tall and more slim, balding with bright eyes and an interesting curve to his lips that makes him look as if he has always got a sardonic smile. K has got similar lips. It’s not unattractive. Mr. and Mrs. M are probably in their mid to late forties. I can’t tell for sure, but that’s my guess.

Next is J. She is a single woman. I don’t know if she is divorced or never married but I’m suspecting divorced. I know that I’ll find out eventually. She is the church secretary. She also appears to be very good friends with Mrs. M if not her best friend. J is my age, maybe older. She is retired from the phone company and just works at the church part time. She is a lively woman with blond hair and a pleasant face. She gives the appearance of being slim but told me she goes to weight watchers and when I really looked at her I realized she is not all that slim she just carries it very well. She probably wears a size 14/16 pant at least. She is lots of fun and does various crazy things. She told us a story on Friday night about how she ended up joining this dating service a couple of years ago on a crazy whim where she paid a fee of five-thousand dollars!!! Can you believe it!!?? She says it’s a story she doesn’t share with everyone LOL. Anyway, she did this and then came over to Mrs. M’s house and told her about it. Mrs. M said, “We’re getting you out of this.” There was a 3-day buyer’s remorse period so, after some legal goings-on, the charges were removed from her card, thank God, but that was quite something. She is not unattractive and has a wonderful and fun personality so I’m sort of surprised that she doesn’t have various men taking her out on a regular basis – go figure. She also has a beautiful singing voice and apparently has been very involved with theatre throughout her life. She doesn’t seem to have any children but has good relationships with many of her friends’ kids, including K. She seems like she would be a good and fun friend to have… a very caring and never boring type of lady.

The next couple are Mr,. D and Mrs. B. They have been married for 15 years and have 7 cats. Mr. D actually used to work with my husband at a company my husband worked for years ago. He’s a computer guy and has a terrible hair cut LOL – just like a monk’s. But I’m used to it now. He also has a very nice singing voice and does solos quite often at the church or duets with J (mentioned above). He and J are also in some chorale group together). Mrs. B and J are both in hand bell choir along with K and myself, by the way. Mrs. B has short reddish-brown hair and a cute pixie-like face. She has many piercings in her right ear which I think is cool, and she is quite heavy. She is maybe even heavier than I was before I had the surgery. She doesn’t like to wear shoes or boots so often wears sandals even in the winter!! She has a wonderful outgoing, straight-forward encompassing personality that has room for everyone! D & B have no children but Mrs. B is in charge of the youth and has been terrific to my son. The two of them are a lot of fun and make good jokes. I find myself very drawn to both of them.

Another couple who are a little more reserved but very nice are Mr. L and Mrs. G – I think they may be about my age but maybe are younger and just don’t try to hide their age. I don’t think she dyes her hair. She is very petite, maybe a size 7 and possibly shorter than me. Her hair has a great deal of gray in it and she wears glasses. She seems like a woman who is into natural things – like maybe she used to be a conservative type of hippie person. They are quiet in a way, but still fun and extremely pleasant.

The last regular there is L who is a woman who is probably approaching 70 or at least about 65. She is extremely heavy. She doesn’t talk a lot but is not particularly quiet either… I know that doesn’t make sense, but I guess I sort of forget a lot of what she says because it’s not interesting – nevertheless it’s not bad or boring conversation… it still adds to the whole experience.

Other people that I guess sometimes show up are Mrs. D and her husband (I don’t know his name). Mrs. D is the best friend of Mrs. B. Mrs. D has short spiky hair and is very heavy but has bigger non-pixie-ish features. As a matter of fact, she looks very much like the actress Toni Collette. She has a terrific sense of humor and I just love chatting with her. I look forward to spending more time with her because she just seems like an immensely fun person.

My daughter and her husband were also at this last Cottage Bible study. I made some great chicken soup with organic spinach, organic carrots, organic broccoli, free range chicken, fat free broth, onions, garlic, organic garbanzo beans, and organic protein wheat alphabet pastas. Mrs. M. made some delicious (but artery hardening ;-)) potato soup with a smoky flavor and sausages cut up in it. Mrs. G brought beer bread and it was so incredibly delicious I ate two pieces (which I never do any more!) Mrs. B brought the salad and J brought a rich butter cake for dessert which was also out of this world. Mrs. M made fresh green tea to go with the cake and I was really in my element sipping tea, chatting and munching on this cake I had no business eating! After the Bible study we had fun talkingand then we asked Mrs. M a bunch of questions about Puket and the tsunami. We didn’t get home until 12:30pm. I had the best time!!!

Log in to write a note