Creating

I was thinking about something this morning.  In Jeremiah 1:5 The Lord said, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you…”  I ended up thinking about this, wondering why, for a moment, that made me feel good.  After all, I’m not so sure my mom felt really good about having me there.  Maybe she did because I was a girl after two boys, but I’m not so sure.  Then I realized, she was an implement of my creation.  After all, as I’m typing this, I’m the one creating it.  You don’t look at it and think the computer is so wonderful to have caused it to be there or if you look at a painting, you don’t credit the paint or the canvas, right?  You credit the painter.  The paint and the canvas are just the medium for the creator.  And before the creator wrote the words or painted the picture, he/she had an idea in their head about what they were going to create.  Once they had the idea, they began to create.  Only, if it’s a human creating, we have certain mediums we use to create.  God can use a womb as a medium of creation.  So… before he formed us in the womb, he had an idea of us in His head… He knew us.  He sculpted us there, even if it was a womb that was hard to work with, unfriendly, not wanting us.  It didn’t matter — sometimes a computer doesn’t work so well or a typewriter or pen run out of ink, make splotches, paint dries up or paintbrush bristles flay.  Just because tools don’t work right doesn’t mean that creations aren’t cherished by their creators.

Log in to write a note
April 20, 2018

When you consider Jeremiah 5:1 with Psalm 139:13-16, you get a feel for how individually God planned each of us.  Ho He created each of us with a distinct purpose.

April 20, 2018

Yees!

April 20, 2018

A very insightful entry.Yes we were all created for a reason I believe-sometimes thats not obvious for many years.

April 21, 2018

For someone who thinks they aren’t all that interesting to read, you sure come up with some thoughtful entries.    🙂

April 23, 2018

I agree with you.  I believe God had a purpose for us before we were born.  Sometimes it takes us a long time to realize what that purpose is.  You are very good at writing insightful entries:)