Remiss

I’ve been remiss in writing in here.  Part of that is because I’m taking writing classes and I do a LOT of writing for those… lots and lots and part of it is because when one takes writing classes, one wants to only put good stuff up in a public forum.  Over here, I have to remind myself I can just put mind sludge.  Nobody cares about the adjectives and adverbs or if I’m telling instead of showing.

I wrote a story today that was not very good but was a lot of fun.  It was called Sinless Saturday.  I had this concept of a group of very misguided Christians… like a whole culture of misguided Christians… and a real Christian being dropped into this group.  And coming out of a very active Good Friday service where people were so loving about Jesus and thankful to Him for dying on the cross, a conversation is begun talking about what everybody is going to do on Sinless Saturday.

Of course, the “real” Christian who has been dropped into this situation has no idea what they’re talking about so they explain that Sinless Saturday is the one day a year when you can do anything you want because Jesus can’t see you… He’s away, they say.  They look forward to this day all year long.  After all, they tell the new person, it’s not a sin if Jesus can’t see it.

They let the new person know what they’re plans are, most have to do with illicit sex but some consider doing things to break the law as long as they think they won’t get caught.  There are no sins, but there are still consequences.

The real Christian is appalled but they just think she’s crazy and try to get her to think about what she might do on Sinless Saturday.  She tries to explain that Jesus is always looking but even if He weren’t, wouldn’t they want to obey?  They accuse her of trying to ruin the fun and why would they want to be good if He wasn’t around to see it?  That wouldn’t make sense.

She’s not convinced and is going home to stay there all day.  The rest of them bid her farewell and tell her they’ll see her in church on Easter and comment on how blessed they are to have Jesus.  They leave singing an Easter song.

I loved the concept but I couldn’t really get it going in a relatable way.  It didn’t flow smoothly and I don’t think it will ever become a real story, but it was fun batting it around and I sent it to my daughter who will enjoy it.

Other than that I did some real writing, much heavier and much much better.  But I’ve been writing all day… how I love it.  It’s a great feeling because it has been very difficult to write all winter.  I’ve struggled with my depression and with my ups and downs and hooked into the television, unable to get myself to the computer to do what I needed to do.  I hate that.

I’m so glad I seem to be cracking through that shell now.

Log in to write a note
April 2, 2018

I’m writing an autobiography.  It has taken several years.  Hopefully I can finish it soon:)  Maybe you could give me some tips when I finish.

April 4, 2018

Very interesting story… But how sad that it is reality for so many who call themselves believers.