Senior

So I’m almost an adult.  I went to go get my licensed renewed because I will soon be a “senior.”  Geez.  It was sort of a comeuppance to look at the little paper attached to my license and see “senior” circled.  Hmmm… Then I went to the designated counter and was assisted by this nice old guy.  I think he was a Navy retiree (because there was a cap tossed behind him that said “Navy Retiree” on it).   I said to him, “This is my first license as a senior.”  And he said, “Yeah, I just got my first too… a couple of months ago.”

Geez.

No, I don’t really have a problem with turning 65… well, maybe I do.  I guess I’m up and down about it.  I don’t FEEL all that old and 65 actually doesn’t SEEM that old to me.  I guess I just sometimes feel as if it must seem really old to other people.  And then I wonder, do I seem like a “nice old guy,” (or lady or girl or gal) to other people?  Got me.   I know I look pretty young… or let’s say, not so old, for my age because people are always stunned when I tell them my age.  It’s been that way all my life.  Plus, my husband is younger than me — keeps me young AND keeps people thinking I’m younger.  So, I’m not ashamed of my age, but it’s weird when I am so open and honest about it and people respond with things like: “I didn’t know you were THAT old!” or “You sure don’t look THAT old!”  I don’t exactly know how I’m supposed to take it LOL

Oh well.. like I said, soon I’ll be an adult.  Maybe I’ll have the wisdom to know the answers then 😉

Log in to write a note
April 5, 2018

LOL

April 5, 2018

I know what you mean regarding age.I am 67 and was “stopped” at the checkout the other day as I have a card for “seniors” to use on one day of the week for a discount. The girl would have been around 20-she grabbed by bank card off me and scrutinised that-said nothing.Next time I will say”whats the problem?” she obviously thought I was using someone else’s card as I have long still partly blonde hair and an unlined face(I wear very little makeup-don’t need it) and hate the “caked” look.  I guess we should both take this as a compliment.I haven’t tried probiotics yet but will consider that.I still think I am experiencing problems after the gallbladder op from last year but hope not.

April 6, 2018

I will be turning 60 this Fall and I can already feel that new decade making me feel older…   :/

April 9, 2018

I see people I grew up with and I think, “They are getting old!” but I never feel old myself:)