January 18th, 2021

Gotta love a 2 day work week.

Well – apart from less money I suppose, but I got what I wanted out of that whole arrangement so it’s a big ol’ bucket of “Worth it.”

Monday was characteristically slow. I mean – like sometimes 20 minutes or more between transactions slow. Still, the night was pleasant enough all in all. Stocked a lot of the coolers again, shook my head at the oddbit of leftover co-worker inanities, and chatted with folks whilst watching various bits of TV. (As we’re in post-regular season football time, viewing was RED 2, wrestling, and assorted game shows and late night programming.)

While the evening wasn’t particularly notable in most respects, there was an interesting moment where I had a conversation with one of our native regulars. I usually have kind of a like/dislike thing for this guy. He doesn’t particularly care for the rules here and has been caught with a flask on his person more than once. (Which – I mean I don’t care personally – but we’re not allowed here and enforcement of our bar rules is a thing I have to pay mind to, so…).  He’d been drinking the night before though, so was just doing soda today, and as such was a more agreeable sort. We talked briefly about COVID, and glanced briefly into the topic of politics. That’s usually a bar ‘Nope’ in my book, but I indulged him as it was just him at the bar and he was more of the mind that he didn’t understand how and why people would polarize against each other, reasons regardless.

At least in the land of being sober, he seemed very live-and-let-live, and… that’s a thing I can generally respect. Interesting. I’m sure his drunk self will annoy me again in the future, but sober guy? I may be a notch more okay with him today.

Anyway. That’s the meat of it, as they say.

3 days off and then back to it. Have a good one, folks.

Log in to write a note
January 19, 2021

Drunks are a no-no in my books. Period. Too many triggers there.

January 19, 2021

@sleepydormouse – Drunks are a non-favorite for me too, just in general. But I tend bar, so… it’s a thing on occasion.

January 19, 2021

@hellrazor Oy. I don’t think I could tend bar. I’d come out swinging at the nearest drunkard.