June 23rd, 2018

And it’s that time once again, time to go hang out in the Service bar with Jerry…  erm…. what’s that Mr. Schedule on the Wall?  Not so much?

Well bugger.  So it looks like Cherry swapped her Saturdays off around.  So instead of service bar for a few weeks, I’m now in the lounge for the nxt two or three.   I’m only partially annoyed by this, honestly.  Morgan’s easy enough to work with, and band nights in the lounge, while quite loud, at least are good for some dollars, and I need those just now, so… fine. I can cope.

I get my usual added chunk of Saturday night cash and head to get myself set up.  It’s slow-ish, but there is a 300-head wedding reception in the house too, so there’s every reason to think it’ll pick up a bit before the night is done.

Morgan was already going when I got there, though it wasn’t horribly busy. We had some casual conversation, and she stated at least, that she’s trying to get to remember to shut the ice tray and not serve over the side of the bar, and so on, so we’ll see, I suppose. At any rate I may be working with her for a while, so that’s that, I suppose

We took our breaks respectively. The band started on time, and much to my delight, they were a rather good rock band. They even had the kinda scraggly/stringy long rock-band hair. Their normal female front-lady was absent at another booking, but the three guys remaining showed up and played a damned good show, and were really pretty funny with their banter during the set.

I actually enjoyed them quite a lot and hope we’ll be seeing them again sooner than later.

Even the wedding party, when they arrived, behaved.  Good money was made, and no hassle was present. Groovy.

 

Closing observations :

  • A rock show was an excellent change from the usual blend of urban dance/country we usually get.
  • A well-behaved wedding party post-reception is extraordinarily rare. What’s the opposite of a full moon? New moon? Does it have opposite day effects or something?

 

Next up : Sunday

Log in to write a note