March 28th, 2021

H’ok – a brief one today, really.

Sunday night? On the whole, quite pleasant, really.

 

No silly idiots to deal with. Quiet bar night. Inventory is coming up on the 31st (as it does every month) so we’re letting the coolers run as close to dry as possible to ease the counting process.  As such, I only stock as things run out, and only a case at a time, so… it’s a quiet night.

Had one really nice guest who kept tipping me $10+ on his card so that was cool. He even did one of the fun things and just had me make him a whatever-the-fuck-I-wanted to. For those, I often dive into the recipe book for the bar and make something that I rarely get to concoct. There’s not a published bar menu so the obscure things don’t get asked for.

I found one I’d never actually made before, called a Coyote.

Midori, Blue Curacao, Rum, and pineapple juice. Was this truly amazing shade of green. Very cool.  I’m going to totally keep this one on tap for these moments for a while. Guy loved it, too. It’s one of a rare group of recipes in our book that was never actually formally approved. I pulled it out of a bartending app years ago and (like so many others) wrote it down in the margins of one of our older recipe books because it fit into our technical set of rules.

When they went through several years ago and converted it all to index card format, no one bothered to confirm which things were authorized recipes and which ones weren’t, so there’s some fun stuff in there that was purely employee contributed. Fun little trivia note on that. I’m probably one of the only people that even know that, frankly. Makes me laugh.

Anyway though – good night. Made almost as much money as I did on Saturday, with 100% fewer idiots. I call that a good night.

Also managed to finally pigeonhole the bossman about taking me off Monday nights, so that I can have extra school work time (and to make the schedule easier on my wife – though I didn’t include -that- part in the formal request). I also confirmed that smoke is still due to return to my lounge, which both angers and saddens me more than I care to acknowledge.

I told him I’d still do the service bar nights though, when they’r eopen, as long as no smoke is in the area. Also confirmed that I’d be willing to do banquet events under the same scenario, and learned about the various protections that are still going to be in place, so that’s nice. It doesn’t solve everything, but it’s at least a start, I guess.

Anyway…

 

Take it easy, folks.

Log in to write a note